T20 World Cup 2021: ICC Announces Prize Money
T20 World Cup 2021: ICC Announces Prize Money

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced the prize money to be distributed at the upcoming T20 World Cup, which will be played from October 17 to November 14 in Oman and the UAE.

The title-winning team will be awarded prize money of $1.6 million while the runners-up will take home $800,000. $400,000 will be given to each of the two losing semi-finalists.

There will be rewards for each victory in the Super 12 and the Round 1 stage. The ICC will award a bonus amount of $40,000 for every win during the Super 12 and Round 1 stage. There are 30 matches in the Super 12 phase and 12 matches during the Round 1 stage – summing up to a total amount of $1,200,000 and $480,000 respectively.

T20 World Cup, West Indies
West Indies. Image Credits: Twitter

The four teams which get knocked out during Round 1 will get $40,000 each while the teams which get knocked out in the Super 12 stage will be awarded $70,000 each.

The eight teams participating in Round 1 will are Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Sri Lanka.

8 teams are confirmed for the Super 12 stage: Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies, who are the defending champions having won the trophy in 2016.

Also, the ICC has announced a drinks break which will take place during every match. The duration of the break will of 2 minutes and 30 seconds and will take place at the halfway mark of each innings.

ICC introduces DRS for the first time in men’s T20 World Cup

The ICC has made a couple of more important decisions regarding the playing conditions for the mega-event. For the first time in an ICC men’s T20I tournament, the Decision Review System (DRS) will be in use. Each team will get a maximum of two reviews per innings.

India, Dawid Malan
ICC introduces DRS for the first time in men’s T20 World Cup [Image-BCCI]
The DRS was not used during the 2016 edition. The first ICC T20I tournament to have the DRS was the 2018 women’s T20 World Cup in the Caribbean where teams had one review available. The same was used again at the 2020 edition of the women’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

The ICC has also decided to increase the minimum number of overs for delayed and rain-interrupted matches. During the group stages of the T20 World Cup, each team will need to bat for a minimum of five overs for the result to be decided by the DLS method. That has been the regular playing condition for T20Is currently.

However, for the semi-finals and the final, each team will need to bat for a minimum of 10 overs to effect a result – as it was during the Women’s T20 World Cup last year.

Also Read: IPL 2021: I Am Going With Delhi Capitals To Win: Aakash Chopra On His Qualifier 1 Winner