Rahul Dravid
Rahul Dravid. (Photo: BCCI)

Rahul Dravid, the coach of the Indian cricket team, has requested the BCCI to send the team early to Australia for the impending T20 World Cup.

Dravid has also asked the BCCI to set up additional preseason games for Team India.

Rohit Sharma, Indian Cricket Team, India T20I Team
Rohit Sharma, Indian cricket team. (Photo: Twitter)

The Indian team will depart for Australia a week before their scheduled arrival for the T20 World Cup to acclimate and engage in match preparation. After the team plays its third T20 International against South Africa in Indore on October 4, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to send the entire T20 squad, net bowlers, and standbys.

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. Image Credits: BCCI

The Indian team will play three T20 Internationals at home against Australia and South Africa before departing for Australia in two weeks.

As per the Indian Express, the squad will fly to Australia on October 5, and the BCCI plans at least three warm-up games there, in addition to two ICC against New Zealand (Oct 17) and Australia (Oct 18).

Rahul Dravid requests BCCI to arrange more practice matches:

After consulting with head coach Rahul Dravid, the Board has decided to give its players more match practice before their World Cup opener against Pakistan on October 23 in Melbourne.

Rahul Dravid
Rahul Dravid. Image: Twitter

“We are in talks with a few teams who will play games with us besides warm-up games kept by ICC. The entire T20 World Cup squad will travel to Australia on October 5 along with Dravid and his support staff.

“The Indian team which will play ODIs here against South Africa will be a second-string side coached by VVS Laxman,” a BCCI official said.

India squad for T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Also Read: ICC Makes Changes To Playing Conditions