Soumya Sarkar
Soumya Sarkar. Pic Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: October 14th, 2022 at 10:15 pm

Bangladesh Cricket Team had a disastrous Tri Series. The Bangladeshi Tigers were winless in all 4 matches match as they were completely outplayed.  Once again, Bangladesh is looking below par and at the same time, there have been questions raised over their preparation.

Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team. Pic Credits: Twitter

Bangladesh are all set to face India, Pakistan & South Africa, and the other two teams in the group stage. Bangladesh would be aware of their dreadful 2021 T20 World Cup where their performance was nowhere great. BCB would be hoping that the team shows character this time.

BCB on Replacements

BCB issued a statement on the new replacements. “Left-handed batsman Soumya Sarkar and left-arm paceman Shoriful Islam, originally on the standby list, have been selected in the World Cup squad. They have replaced batsman Sabbir Rahman and all-rounder Saifuddin who had been named earlier in the 15-man team which was announced on September 14.” said BCB.

Bangladesh Cricket Board
Bangladesh Cricket Board (Image Credit: Twitter)

Shakib al Hasan Invaluable

The skipper Shakib will have to lead the team from the front. As we all know that there is no Tamim Iqbal (*retirement), Rahim, and Mahmudullah; due to which the middle order of Bangladesh looks a bit fragile. There’s no doubt that they have got youngsters who can excel but competing in a marque tournament would be tough.

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan. PC-Getty

Shakib should bat at the No.3 position rather than moving down the order. The all-rounder should not play with 3 spinners as in Australia the spinners don’t thrive. The Bangladeshi Tigers have some good memories in Australia in the 2015 World Cup where the team reached the knock-out stages for the first time in an ICC event.

Bangladesh squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022:

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumer Das, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Nurul Hasan Sohan (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Also Read: “Shakib Al Hasan Likely To Bat At No. 4”- National Selector