Virat Kohli and Shakib al Hasan
Virat Kohli and Shakib al Hasan (Getty Images)

Last Update on: November 4th, 2022 at 01:48 pm

India are close to securing a semi-final spot in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 with a five-run win over Bangladesh in their Group 2 Super 12 match at the Adelaide Oval on Wednesday, November 2.

The Men in Blue beat Bangladesh in a dramatic finish in a rain-affected game, securing their third victory of the tournament in four matches. The Rohit Sharma-led team are currently at the top of the Group 2 Super 12 points table with six points, followed by South Africa with five points and Pakistan with four points.

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Bangladesh keeper-batter Nurul Hasan has accused Virat Kohli of “fake fielding”, saying the Bengal Tigers should have been awarded five penalty runs but no such penalty was awarded.

This accident happened on the second ball of the 7th over of Bangladesh’s innings, when Indian pacer Arshdeep Singh threw the ball from deep towards keeper Dinesh Karthik. In the midst of all this, Kohli caught the ball and tried to throw it, even though the ball was not with him.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Image Credits: Twitter)

Nobody Noticed It – Aakash Chopra

Former India opener Aakash Chopra has given his opinion and stated that it doesn’t matter whether the batters were deceived or not. It is the attempt to do it that qualifies as “fake fielding.”

Aakash Chopra (Image Credits: Twitter)
Aakash Chopra (Image Credits: Twitter)

“Woh fake fielding tha, 100% tha, wo jo throw marne ka prayas kia wo agar umpire dekhte toh 5 run ki pentaly padti humko aur 5 run se hum match bhi jeete. (Yes that 100% fake fielding because of the way he attempted to throw the ball. If the umpires had seen it then we would’ve been slapped with a five-run penalty and we’ve won by five runs only.) So we escaped here but next time if someone does this then the umpires will have to be more careful. So are Bangladesh right? Yes, they are but nobody noticed it then so can’t do anything now,” Chopra said on his YouTube channel.

Also read: IND vs ZIM: “I Still Rate The One At MCG Where He Hit Haris Rauf For A Six Back Over His Head…” – Former Australian Skipper Mark Taylor Lavishes Praise On Virat Kohli