ICC T20 World Cup 2022
Image Credits: Twitter

The prize money for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 has been announced on Friday. The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the champions will receive an incredible USD 1.6 million, with the runners-up guaranteed half the amount.

T20 World Cup will be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13, 2022. There will be 45 matches played in seven cities: Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney. The semi-finals will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10. The final match will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Trophy
Photo Credit: (Twitter / ICC)

World Cup Winner To Take Home USD 1.6 million

The apex cricket body in an official media release stated: “The ICC announced that the winning side at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Melbourne on November 13 would receive prize money of USD 1.6 million, with the runners-up guaranteed half the amount.

At the end of the 16-team tournament that runs for nearly a month, the losing semi-finalists will each get USD 400,000 from the USD 5.6 million total prize pool.

The eight teams who exit at the Super 12 stage will receive USD 70,000 each. Like last year at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, a win in each of the 30 games in the Super 12 phase will be worth USD 40,000.

Read More  AUS vs NZ Live Streaming In India– 1st Test: When and Where To Watch Australia vs New Zealand Live In India? 2024

“The eight teams that made it directly to the Super 12 phase are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa,” stated an official release.

The remaining eight teams – Namibia, Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, and the UAE in Group A, and West Indies, Scotland, Ireland, and Zimbabwe in Group B – will play the first round in two groups. Prize money of USD 40,000 will be awarded for any win in the first round, with the total prize money for the 12 matches totalling USD 480,000. The four teams eliminated in the first round will each receive USD 40,000.

Also read: IND vs SA: He’s Someone Who Wants Big Challenges – Robin Uthappa On Arshdeep Singh