ICC World Test Championship 2023-25

The ICC World Test Championship began on 1 August 2019. The ongoing ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 is the third edition of the competition. The first edition was played from 2019 to 2021 while the second edition took place from 2021 to 2023.

At the end of the two-year championship cycle, the top two teams play the final. India and New Zealand locked horns against each other in the first ICC WTC final in 2021 and the latter won the game. In the second ICC WTC Final, Australia defeated India to lift the trophy.

ICC World Test Championship 2023-25:

The third edition of the competition, ICC World Test Championship 2023-25, got underway in June 2023 with the five-match Ashes series between England and Australia. India, on the other hand, opened their campaign in the championship with the two-match Test series against West Indies in July.

The third edition of the ICC World Test Championship will comprise a total of 27 series and 69 matches in the league stage. The top two teams in the points table will compete at the final in 2025. Each team will plays six series, three at home and three away, with each series containing two to five Test matches.

ICC World Test Championship Teams 2023-25:

A total of 9 teams are participating in the ongoing third edition of the ICC World Test Championship.

New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka
West Indies

ICC World Test Championship Point system 2023-25:

A team will get 12 points for a win, 6 points for a tie, 4 points for a draw, and no points for a loss. The standing in the points table will depend on the percentage of points won by a team. The teams are also penalized for slow over-rated teams. They will lose one championship point for each over short.

Result Points available per match Percentage of points
Win 12 100
Tie 6 50
Draw 4 33.33
Loss 0 0

ICC World Test Championship Points Table 2023-25:

Pos Team Matches Won Lost Drawn NR Points PCT
1 India 2 1 0 1 0 16 66.67
2 Pakistan 3 2 1 0 0 22 61.11
3 New Zealand 2 1 1 0 0 12 50
4 Bangladesh 2 1 1 0 0 12 50
5 Australia 6 3 2 1 0 30 41.67
6 West Indies 2 0 1 1 0 4 16.67
7 England 5 2 2 1 0 9 15
8 Sri Lanka 2 0 2 0 0 0 0

The first ICC World Test Championship final was held at the Lord's in England.

Virat Kohli was the captain of India during the inaugural WTC final against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma was the captain during the second final.

No, India are yet to win the WTC final.