Ishan Kishan Becomes The 4th Indian Batter, 7th Overall To Score An ODI Double Century

Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan. (Image Credits: Twitter)

On Saturday (December 10), young Indian hitter Ishan Kishan made history by becoming the fourth Indian and seventh batter globally to record a double century in ODI matches.

The 24-year-old left-handed wicketkeeper-batter was named to the playing XI for the third One-Day International (ODI) against Bangladesh at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram as a replacement for injured skipper Rohit Sharma, and he made the most of his opportunity by scoring a double century.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023

Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan (PC-Getty Images)

Ishan Kishan Joins Legendary Club

With his historic effort, Ishan Kishan joined Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma (three times), Chris Gayle of the West Indies, Martin Guptill of New Zealand, and Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman in the select club of ODI double centuries.

With 23 fours and 9 sixes, the Mumbai Indian wicketkeeper-batsman accomplished his double century in just 126 balls. He got his first hundred runs in just 85 balls, then needed 18 balls to go to 150 and another 23 to get to 200. He also the first batter to convert his first ODI tonne into a double century.

Ishan Kishan (PC-Getty Images)
Ishan Kishan (PC-Getty Images)

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

The left-hander eventually finished with the third-best individual score for India in this format, 210 from 131 balls. He was removed in the 36th over, just as he appeared to be on track to break a couple more records on the day.

India Looking To Avoid Whitewash

Liton Das, Bangladesh’s captain, won the toss and chose to bowl. The hosts, who defeated India by five runs on Wednesday to take a 2-0 lead in the three-match series, made two substitutions in Chittagong. Nasum Ahmed and Najmul Hossain are replaced by Taskin Ahmed and Yasir Ali.

India are without regular captain Rohit Sharma, who sustained a thumb injury in their previous loss and rushed back to Mumbai for treatment, and Deepak Chahar, who is out with a hamstring issue.

Ishan Kishan and Virat Kohli (PC-Getty Images)
Ishan Kishan and Virat Kohli (PC-Getty Images)

KL Rahul has taken over as captain, with left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav and opening batsman Ishan Kishan also included to the squad as India seeks a series win.

Bangladesh: Anamul Haque, Liton Das (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed 

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (capt, wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik 

Also Read: IND vs BAN: Team India About To Accomplish A Dubious Feat For Just The Second Time In The 48-year History Of ODIs

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts