ENG vs IND: Rohit Sharma One Win Away From Equalling Ricky Ponting's Record Of Winning 20 Consecutive Games As Captain

Updated - 10 Jul 2022, 01:48 PM

Rohit Sharma, Indian Cricket Team, India T20I Team
Rohit Sharma, Indian cricket team. (Photo: Twitter)

Indian captain Rohit Sharma registered his 19th consecutive win as the captain during India’s 49-run thrashing against England at Edgbaston on Saturday.

Rohit has already led the team to 14 consecutive wins in T20Is and is on the brink of a record-breaking sixth consecutive whitewash series win in the shortest format of the game.

In addition, he is only one game away from former Australian captain, Ricky Ponting’s record of 20 consecutive wins as the captain. With another game to go against England, Rohit will be keen to equal the record and register an emphatic 3-0 win.

Ricky Ponting
Ricky Ponting (Image Credit: Twitter)

“At no point, did we feel he was panicking” – Rohit Sharma on Jadeja’s knock

Meanwhile, the second T20I was more contested but the Indian bowlers trumped their counterparts. After putting up 170 on the board courtesy of a late fightback from Ravindra Jadeja, England folded up for 121 in 17 overs.

The 49-run hands India the series as they take an unassailable 2-0 win having won the first game by 50 runs.

When you win games, it’s always nice. The group is also confident, which is very important. We will look to continue and focus on what lies ahead. Wanted to see how we do after a win and will look to challenge us as a group.”

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja PC- Twitter

Brilliant knock under pressure (from Jadeja) and Jadeja with his experience of the hundred in this ground was calm and collective. At no point, did we feel he was panicking. We do want to give the guys sitting on the bench some chances and will go and discuss this with the coach,” Rohit said at the post-match presentation ceremony.

The final game will be played on Sunday and England will be keen to avoid a whitewash at home.

Also Read – Eoin Morgan impressed with huge change of attitude in the Indian batting lineup


India National Cricket Team India tour of England 2022 Ravindra Jadeja Rohit Sharma