IND vs SA: Dean Elgar, Team Manager Met Match Umpires To Discuss Rishabh Pant's Controversial Catch
IND vs SA: Dean Elgar, Team Manager Met Match Umpires To Discuss Rishabh Pant's Controversial Catch

South African skipper Dean Elgar and the team manager, Khomotso Masubelele, went to have a conversation with the match officials during the lunch break of Day 2 of the second Test in Johannesburg.

They spoke with the on-field umpires, Marias Erasmus and Allahudien Palekar, the third umpire, Adrian Holdstock, and the match referee, Andy Pycroft, regarding the dismissal of South African batter, Rassie van der Dussen.

In the last over before Lunch, Shardul Thakur induced an edge off Rassie’s willow which was caught by the wicket-keeper, Rishabh Pant. At the time, nobody decided to check if the catch was legitimate and the players walked off for the break.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant. (Photo: Twitter)

However, replays showed that the ball might have bounced before going into Pant’s gloves. Having seen it on the replay, Elgar and co. went to have a chat with the officials. Although it is unsure how exactly the conversation went down, it is likely regarding the legitimacy of the catch.

What the rule states regarding the dismissal

If the third umpire finds conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field umpire’s ‘out’ decision, then he can go and have a chat with the opposing captain (KL Rahul here). If he wants to, he can recall the batsman who was dismissed.

Shardul Thakur, Dean Elgar
Shardul Thakur (Image: ICC)

However, the third umpire suggested that there was inconclusive evidence, ESPNcricinfo reported. Therefore, the on-field decision was upheld. In case the time was a factor, the ICC rule states:

An umpire may alter any decision provided that such alteration is made promptly. This apart, an umpire’s decision, once made, is final.

Also Read – Ashes 2021-22: Pat Cummins Pleased With His Bowlers For Keeping Joe Root Quiet In The Series