Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. Image Credits: BCCI

The Indian team will undergo three-day quarantine in a five-star hotel near Mumbai International Airport before flying to South Africa on Wednesday, December 15 by charter flight. The test squad has checked into the hotel on Sunday, December 12 to fulfil the bio-security protocols.

Players like Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswallam and Hanuma Vihari are already present in South Africa. They were part of India A squad for the three unofficial Tests against South Africa.

Players like Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, and Shardul Thakur took part in a mini-camp at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai under bowling coach Paras Mhambrey before entering the bio bubble. Sharma, Rahul and Pant were rested ahead of the two-match Test series against New Zealand at home. Thakur was rested ahead of the three-match T20I and Test series against the Kiwis.

India National Cricket Team
Image Source: Twitter

The tour was originally meant to start from December 17 with a three-match Test and ODI series and four-match T20I series but the emergence of a new Omicron variant in the rainbow nation. Now the tour has been shifted nine days and the T20I series will be played any other time. The tour will start with the Test matches from December 26 in Centurion. The next two games will be played in Johannesburg and Cape Town respectively.

IND vs SA 2021: Indian Team To Undergo Three Day Quarantine Before Flying To South Africa

Team India To Go In A 3-Day Quarantine

Since the return of South Africa in international cricket in the year 1992, India haven’t been able to win a Test series in the nation. In 1992, India lost the four-match Test series by 1-0 with the other three games ending in a draw. Four years later, Sachin  Tendulkar lost the three-match series 2-0 with the last game ending in a draw.

Read More  Ben Stokes hit out at reporter during the press conference after a salty 5-wicket loss in the 4th Test vs India

The Indian team, led by Sourav Ganguly in 2001, went to play the tri-series alongside hosts South Africa and Kenya, followed by the three-match Test series although the third game was unofficial.

South Africa Cricket Team, ICC World Test Championship
South Africa Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

The team once again lost 2-0. Five years later, under Rahul Dravid, the Indian team managed to register their first-ever Test win when they beat the Graeme Smith-led side by 123 runs in the first Test. However, India couldn’t capitalize on the early lead as they went to lose the series 2-1.

IND vs SA 2021: Indian Team To Undergo Three Day Quarantine Before Flying To South Africa

In 2010, India drew the series by 1-1 with the third game ending in a draw. The MS Dhoni-led side had lost the first game but came back to win in the next game in Durban. In, 2013, the team lost the two-match series by 1-0 and in 2018, which was assumed as India’s best chance to win their first-ever Test series in the nation, the team lost the series 2-1.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma Injured In Training Session Ahead Of South Africa Departure, Clouds Loom Large Over Participation

Read More  "Ravichandran Ashwin got Duckett, Pope and Root..." - Steve Harmison on game-changing moment in 4th Test