Virat Kohli and Dean Elgar
Virat Kohli and Dean Elgar, (Photo Credit: Getty)

India have won the toss against South Africa in the 3rd Test of the series and elected to bat first at the Newlands Cricket Stadium in Cape Town. India and South Africa will be locking horns in the final Test of the three-match series that stands level at the moment with the hosts and visitors winning a game each only to come into the final match as the decider.

If the Men in Blue pull off a win in Cape Town, it will mark a historic tour for the visiting nation as it will be India‘s first Test series win in the Rainbow nation. The visitors won the first Test of the series by a comprehensive margin of 113 runs but the hosts bounced back in the second game of the series, clinching the match by 7 wickets to draw the series level.

India vs South Africa
Image Source: Twitter

SA vs IND- Toss Report, India tour of South Africa 2021-22 3rd Test

As far as both the teams are concerned, Indian skipper Virat Kohli, on the eve of the 3rd Test confirmed his availability in the final Test. Virat had missed the second Test due to an upper back spasm and the visitors were then led by KL Rahul. Virat also confirmed that Mohammed Siraj is not match-fit and hence, Umesh Yadav will replace him in the final Test of the series.

Virat Kohli.
Virat Kohli. Credits: Twitter

As far as the Proteas are concerned, it is highly unlikely that they will make a change in their winning combination that played in the last Test of the series until and unless someone is forced out due to an injury.

India’s Playing XI: KL Rahul (vc), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

South Africa’s Playing XI:Dean Elgar(c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Verreynne(w), Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi