IND vs WI: India Squad For West Indies T20Is Announced

Updated - 14 Jul 2022, 04:47 PM

India Squad For West Indies T20Is
India Squad For West Indies T20Is

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on July 12, 2022, announced the Team India T20I squad for the upcoming five-match series against the West Indies which will be played in the Caribbean and the United States of America (USA), which will begin from July 29 onwards.

The BCCI already announced the squad for the ODIs, which will be captained by Shikhar Dhawan and feature lots of fringe players who are looking to make their mark on the Indian team.

However, given that the T20 World Cup 2022 will be played in Australia in just under three months’ time, the emphasis is on the shortest format of the game.

Rohit Sharma, India, Indian Cricket Team
Indian cricket team celebrate T20I series win over England. (Photo: Twitter)

The first T20I match between West Indies and India will be played in Tarouba, Trinidad on July 29. The second and third T20Is will be played in Basseterre on August 1 and 2, while the last two T20Is will be played in Florida, the USA on August 6 and 7.

India had a good time in Ireland and England in the shortest format of the game, in which they displayed an ultra-aggressive approach with the bat which had a positive response from both the pundits and the fans.

Virat Kohli Misses Out On The T20I Series; Ravichandran Ashwin Returns To The Fold

The squad has some names missing, especially that of Virat Kohli, who as expected will not play against the West Indies. Other notable names missing from the squad were fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and express pacer Umran Malik.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo: Twitter)

A surprise inclusion in the squad was off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who has been recalled to the T20I team after missing out on the South Africa and England series. Also named in the squad was opener KL Rahul and left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

However, their selection will be based on their fitness as Rahul is recovering from his injury to a sports hernia and Kuldeep Yadav suffered a finger injury while batting in the nets ahead of the South Africa series at home.

Here is the India squad for the West Indies T20I series:

Rohit Sharma (C), I Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, D Hooda, S Iyer, D Karthik, R Pant, H Pandya, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, R Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, B Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*Inclusion of KL Rahul & Kuldeep Yadav is subject to fitness.

Also Read: ENG vs IND: Respect The Conditions And Situations – Aakash Chopra To England Ahead Of 2nd ODI Against India


BCCI IND vs WI 2022 India National Cricket Team India tour of West Indies 2022 India vs West Indies 2022 West Indies National Cricket Team West Indies vs India 2022 WI vs IND 2022