West Indies Announce 13 Member Squad For The ODI Series Against India

Updated - 18 Jul 2022, 01:41 AM

West Indies Announce 13 Member Squad For The ODI Series Against India
West Indies Announce 13 Member Squad For The ODI Series Against India

The Senior Men’s Selection Panel of Cricket West Indies (CWI) named the 13-player squad to face India in the three-match CG United ODI Series in Trinidad today.

The CG United trophy will be up for grabs. The three matches will take place at the historic Queen’s Park Oval on Friday, July 22, Sunday, July 24, and Wednesday, July 27. All matches begin at 9:30 a.m. (8:30 a.m. Jamaica time/7:00 p.m. India time).

The Selection Committee recalled veteran all-rounder Jason Holder, who returned to the squad after missing the Bangladesh Series to help manage his workload as one of the West Indies’ all-format players.

Nicholas Pooran
Nicholas Pooran. Image: Cricket West Indies

Jason Holder Returns To The West Indies Squad

As we all know Jason is one of the leading all-around cricketers in the world and we’re happy to have him back in the team. He will be refreshed, re-energized and ready to go and we can expect to see his brilliance on the field as well as meaningful contributions off the field as well.”

Jason Holder
Jason Holder. Credits: Twitter

We had a very challenging three matches against Bangladesh in Guyana so we will be looking to rebound when we face India in the conditions in Trinidad. We have seen some growth among some players, but overall we need to regroup and play better against the Indians, ” said Lead Selector, The Most Hon. Dr Desmond Haynes said on the squad selection.

WI will hope for a better performance against India as they lost to Bangladesh 3-0 in the just concluded series. Although the series against India is not part of the World cup qualification round, a series win against India would give WI a lot of confidence.

West Indies ODI Squad:

Nicholas Pooran (Captain) Shai Hope (Vice Captain) Shamarh Brooks Keacy Carty Jason Holder Akeal Hosein Alzarri Joseph Brandon King Kyle Mayers Gudakesh Motie Keemo Paul Rovman Powell Jayden Seales


Romario Shepherd Hayden Walsh Jr.

Also Read: ENG vs IND: Twitter Reacts As Rishabh Pant Hits His First Century In ODIs


Jason Holder West Indies National Cricket Team