IPL 2022 Groups Announced, CSK And MI Divided Into 2 Separate Groups
IPL 2022 Groups Announced, CSK And MI Divided Into 2 Separate Groups

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed the two groups for the IPL 2022 season. The addition of two new franchises has prompted the league to have two separate groups.

The teams in each group were decided based on the number of titles won by the franchises and the number of appearances in the final of the IPL. Therefore, Mumbai Indians (MI) with five titles and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) with four titles were drafted first.

IPL 2021, Final: List Of All Prize Winners
IPL 2021 Winners, Chennai Super Kings. (Photo: Twitter)

Each team will play 14 matches in the league stage where they will face off twice against the other franchise in its group, and once against each franchise in the other group.

The tournament will kick off on March 26 after the meeting of the IPL Governing Council (GC). As many as 55 matches of the league stage will be played across three venues in Mumbai while 15 remaining games will be played at the DY Patil Stadium in Pune. The venues for the playoff matches will be decided at a later time.

Brijesh Patel, IPL Governing Council Chairman
Brijesh Patel. (Credits: Twitter)

The IPL will kick off on March 26, the full schedule will come soon. We will also have crowds but as per the policy of the Maharashtra government. Whether it will be 25 or 50 percent of the stadium capacity will be decided by the government instruction,” the IPL chairman, Brijesh Patel, told Cricbuzz.

The entire schedule will be announced soon and the host broadcaster, Star Sports, has already asked the commentators to make themselves available from March 9 itself.

IPL 2022 Group A Teams:

1) Mumbai Indians (MI)
2) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
3) Rajasthan Royals (RR)
4) Delhi Capitals (DC)
5) Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

IPL 2022 Group B Teams:

1) Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
2) Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
3) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
4) Punjab Kings (PBKS)
5) Gujarat Titans (GT)

Also Read – There Will Be A Time When 50-Over Cricket Will Be Played At World Cup Only: Michael Vaughan On Future Of ODI Cricket