Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni
Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

On Sunday evening, everyone was happy to see MS Dhoni guiding Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to a 13-run victory over SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in an Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 match.

After Ravindra Jadeja stepped down as CSK captain to focus on his own game, Dhoni was re-instated as captain.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo: IPL)

CSK now has six points from nine games, with three wins, after Dhoni guided the team to victory in his first match back as captain.

The last time a leadership change occurred during an IPL season was in 2021 when Dinesh Karthik decided to step down and Eoin Morgan took over as KKR skipper. At the age of 40 years and 298 days, Dhoni has become the oldest Indian skipper in any T20 tournament.

At the age of 40 years and 268 days, he overtook Rahul Dravid, who led Rajasthan Royals against Mumbai Indians in 2013.

Pravin Tambe, Rahul Dravid
Pravin Tambe, Rahul Dravid. (Photo: Twitter)

At the age of 40 years and 135 days, Sunil Joshi captained Karnataka against Hyderabad in 2010. They are the only three Indians to captain a team in a T20 tournament after turning 40. For these guys, it appears that age is just a number.

MS Dhoni Takes Over As Captain Of CSK From Ravindra Jadeja:

After a disastrous start to Chennai Super Kings’ title defense, Ravindra Jadeja handed over the captaincy to MS Dhoni.

Jadeja stepped down from the post to concentrate on his performance, which had fallen in the IPL 2022. This year, he has only scored 112 runs in 96 balls while scooping up five wickets.

MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja
MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja. (Photo: IPL)

According to a statement published by CSK on Saturday evening, Jadeja encouraged Dhoni to take over, and Dhoni gladly accepted.

“Ravindra Jadeja has opted to step down as skipper to concentrate on his play more and has asked MS Dhoni to lead CSK. “MS Dhoni has agreed to head CSK in the long term interests, allowing Jadeja to concentrate on his game,” CSK said in a statement.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 13 runs to win their third match in the Indian Premier League 2022.

Also Read: DC vs LSG: “Prithvi Shaw Seems To Have An Issue,” Aakash Chopra Says Of The Delhi Capitals’ Run Chase