MS Dhoni and Rishabh Pant
MS Dhoni and Rishabh Pant (Credits: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings has retained their talismanic captain MS Dhoni for the next three seasons in IPL 2022.

With the IPL 2022 auctions will see many players going under the auction, the BCCI has allowed each franchise to retain a maximum of four players.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja retained by CSK along with MS Dhoni- Reports

According to an Indian Express report, four-time IPL champions CSK has retained Dhoni along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad. 

Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni
Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Chennai outfit is also in talks with England all-rounder Moeen Ali as their fourth retention player. 

Delhi Capitals, who finished on top of IPL 2021 points table, have decided to retain Rishabh Pant, who led them in the last season. 

According to the report, Shreyas Iyer, who was the captain of the Delhi outfit between 2018-2020, was released by the franchise because he wanted to lead the team. But the franchise management were keen on naming Pant as their captain. 

Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer
Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer. Image Credits: Twitter

Apart from Pant, Delhi Capitals have also retained all-rounder Axar Patel, opener Prithvi Shaw and South African pacer Anrich Nortje.

Kolkata Knight Riders are likely to retain its senior players Sunil Narine and Andre Russell and will decide between Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill. 

Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah to be retained by Mumbai Indians

Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians have retained skipper Rohit Sharma and pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah. The franchise is also chasing their star all-rounder Kieron Pollard and Ishan Kishan.

As reports earlier suggested that KL Rahul will be released by Punjab Kings, there is a possibility that he might lead the Lucknow franchise.

There were no names from other franchises like Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

This would be the first time that CSK won’t retain their all time highest run-scorer Suresh Raina ahead of an IPL auction.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: 3 Teams Which Can Target KL Rahul