IPL 2022: Watch - Maheesh Theekshana Cleans Up Shahbaz Ahmed
IPL 2022: Watch - Maheesh Theekshana Cleans Up Shahbaz Ahmed

Last Update on: May 4th, 2022 at 09:21 pm

Maheesh Theekshana has been in terrific form in IPL 2022. In all the games that he has played for Chennai Super Kings so far in the tournament, he has been pretty impressive.

On Wednesday, against Royal Challengers Bangalore he was once again at his best as he picked up 3 wickets in the penultimate over of the first innings which also included the wicket of Shahbaz Ahmed.

Maheesh Theekshana
Maheesh Theekshana and Ravindra Jadeja. Image: IPL

A Bad Day With The Bat For Royal Challengers Bangalore Yet Again

Royal Challengers Bangalore got off to a good start as Faf du Plessis and Virat Kohli had a 50+ partnership but as soon as the spinners came into the bowl, RCB lost their way. Faf and Virat Kohli were undone by Moeen Ali and Glenn Maxwell was run out. Rajat Patidar and Mahipal Lamror resurrect the innings but in the slog overs, RCB lost their way yet again as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

IPL 2022: Watch - Maheesh Theekshana Cleans Up Shahbaz Ahmed
Dinesh Karthik and Shahbaz Ahmed (Image Credits: Twitter)

The 19th over bowled by Mahesh Theekshana was a brilliant over as he got the wicket of Mahipal Lamror on a full-toss on the first delivery of the over, then on the next delivery, he got his fellow countryman Wanindu Hasaranga. On the last ball of the 19th over, he cleaned bowled Shahbaz Ahmed with a carrom ball. Ahmed just couldn’t read the ball at all. He came into bat at 8 and had not much time to settle in, but if even he was set, there’s no guarantee if he would have read that delivery from Theekshana.

RCB are 6th on the points table as they have lost 3 games on the trot and if they have to remain in contention of a playoff spot they need to beat Chennai Super Kings to increase their chances.

RCB Playing XI:

Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood

CSK Playing XI:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwaine Pretorius, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary, Maheesh Theekshana

Also Read: RCB vs CSK: Watch – Virat Kohli’s Rut Continues; Moeen Ali Clean Bowls Him For 30 Runs In 33 Balls

IPL 2022: Watch – Maheesh Theekshana Cleans Up Shahbaz Ahmed: