PBKS vs SRH: Revealed - Why Mayank Agarwal Isn't Playing Today For Punjab Kings Against Sunrisers Hyderabad
PBKS vs SRH: Revealed - Why Mayank Agarwal Isn't Playing Today For Punjab Kings Against Sunrisers Hyderabad

Punjab Kings (PBKS) regular captain Mayank Agarwal will not be participating in the franchise’s day game against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

In his stead, the senior opener, Shikhar Dhawan took over the reins and he revealed the reason behind Mayank’s absence. The Karnataka right-hander received a blow on his toe during practice and is recovering from the same.

He is guaranteed to return for the next game. Prabhsimran Singh will be replacing Mayank in the playing XI, as confirmed by Dhawan at the toss.

Mayank agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan. Photo-IPL

“Mayank Agarwal got hit on his toe” – Shikhar Dhawan

Mayank got hit on his toe, he should be fine for the next game. So, there’s just one change for us – Prabhsimran is in. We are performing well without depending on individuals – need to continue playing well as a unit, the bowling can get better, we’re working on it.”

The team is new and we’re taking time to settle. The toss could be an advantage, it’s a bit sticky, the ball could turn, but if we put up a good total, we can put them under pressure,” Dhawan said.

Punjab Kings
Image: BCCI

Sunrisers will be bowling first after Kane Williamson won the toss. They haven’t made any changes to the team that defeated Kolkata on Friday. The SRH team is on a 3-match win streak as well and they will be hoping to continue their momentum.

Read More  'Was upset by numerous comments about...' - Ryan Sidebottom defends Ollie Robinson amid criticism

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(w), Shahrukh Khan, Odean Smith, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Vaibhav Arora, Arshdeep Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson(c), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran(w), Shashank Singh, Jagadeesha Suchith, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, Umran Malik, T Natarajan

Also Read – IPL 2022: Rohit Sharma Has Failed To Use India Captaincy To Up His Game – Michael Vaughan On MI’s Dismal Run In IPL 2022