IPL: 5 Hundreds That Came In A Losing Cause

IPL: 5 Hundreds That Came In A Losing Cause

Hashim Amla. (Credits: Twitter)

Scoring a century isn’t easy in IPL and to be on the losing side after doing the hard yards is very unfortunate for any batsman to accept and move further. The IPL 2021 is set is begin on April 9 and no team will have their home advantage due to the corona restrictions applied in some of the states.

The IPL 2020 was a massive achievement in the sense of viewership and to conduct a big tournament like IPL during the pandemic times turned out to be a great success. With just four days to go for the big tournament to get underway, here are 5 centuries that came in a losing cause.

5 Centuries That Came In A Losing Cause:

Andrew Symonds (117*)- Deccan Chargers vs Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2008:

Andrew Symonds
Andrew Symonds[photo: Twitter]
A high-scoring game that saw one of the biggest chases in the history of IPL happened in the inaugural edition. Deccan Chargers batted first and scored 214 for the loss of five wickets in their 20 overs quota. Andrew Symonds top-scored with 117 not out of just 53 deliveries and hit 11 fours and 7 sixes in his innings.

In reply, Rajasthan Royals chased down the score with one ball to go with the help of excellent knocks from Graeme Smith and Yusuf Pathan. Shane Warne scored a quickfire 22 at the end and took Rajasthan home to the highest successful chase for the last 12 years until Rajasthan broke their own record last year against Kings XI Punjab.

Wriddhiman Saha (115)- KXIP vs KKR, IPL 2014 Final:

Wriddhiman Saha
Wriddhiman Saha[photo: Twitter]
The 2014 final saw one of the best centuries scored as Wriddhiman Saha pulled out a brilliant knock of 115 runs in just 55 balls. The knock comprised of eight sixes and ten fours and took Punjab to a good total of 199 on the board in an exciting final.

In reply, KKR chased down the score with 3 balls to go through the 94 run knock from 50 balls and Yusuf Pathan chipped in with 36 runs. Piyush Chawla got KKR off the finishing line with a quickfire 13 and Saha had to be unfortunate to end up on the losing despite scoring a marvellous century.

Virat Kohli (100)- RCB vs GL, IPL 2016:

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

Virat Kohli had a stellar season in 2016 IPL as he scored the highest tally of runs in a single IPL edition which is still a record in the IPL history. He scored as many as four centuries in the season and one of those went in a losing cause for RCB against Gujarat Lions in the league stage match.

RCB batted first and the skipper Kohli remained not out on 100 in 63 balls with 11 fours and a six. In reply, Gujarat chased down the score with three balls in hand and Dinesh Karthik remained not out on with a half-century which took the team home. Kohli won the man of the match despite ending up on the losing side.

Hashim Amla (104)- KXIP vs GL, IPL 2017:

Hashim Amla
Hashim Amla. Image Credits: Twitter

Punjab went in to bat first and the Guptill and Amla opened the innings in a league stage match between Punjab and Gujarat Lions. The South African veteran Hashim Amla scored a brilliant century of 104 in just 60 deliveries with eight fours and five sixes. He helped Punjab set a target of 190 for the Gujarat Lions.

In reply, Gujarat Lions chased down the target with two balls left, and Dwayne Smith top-scored for the team with a 74 run knock in 39 balls. Dinesh Karthik remained not out on 35 to take the team home and Hashim Amla was unlucky to end up on the losing side after his heroics in the first innings.

Rishabh Pant (128*)- Delhi Daredevils vs SRH, IPL 2018:

Rishabh Pant in IPL
Rishabh Pant[photo: Twitter]
Rishabh Pant smashed the Sunrisers’ bowlers to all parts of the ground and this inning was a testimony of the brilliant talent he is. Delhi was at 43 for three wickets while Pant arrived and took Delhi to an excellent total of 187 on the board with a 128 run knock of just 63 balls.

Pant showed the world, the batting talent he possesses with shots all around the ground and took a toll on one of India’s best pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar. However, SRH chased down the score with more than 1 over to go while Dhawan and Williamson scored brilliant half-centuries.