Former Australian pace battery Brett Lee has picked KL Rahul to become the top run-getter in the T20 Worldcup 2021 and has termed India as a favourite to win the tournament. Brett Lee is one of the fastest bowlers, the world has ever seen, and he has already kept his eyes on KL Rahul as the man for the T20 Worldcup.

KL Rahul has been leading the race for the orange cap in IPL 2021 with 626 runs in 13 games, and it will be interesting to see if he losses his first place to Ruturaj Gaikwad, who is second at the moment. Rahul has been fantastic at the top of the order for Punjab Kings despite the franchise not performing well.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul (Image Credit: Twitter)

Brett Lee Feels India Should Build Around KL Rahul As The Pillar

Brett Lee picked KL Rahul to be the top scorer in the T20 Worldcup and reckoned that India should ease off the pressure from Kohli by building around KL Rahul. He added that it would bring the best from Kohli, and it will be an added advantage as a skipper for Kohli to have someone like Rahul who can do the bulk of the scoring.

“I’ve backed KL Rahul to get the most runs in the competition. I think KL Rahul coming off a great IPL, he’s the pillar that the guys can build around him because it takes the pressure off Kohli if Rahul is scoring runs. It allows Kohli to just play his natural game. And obviously, with Kohli and the captaincy, it’s probably his last crack at it so he’ll want to go out on a high,” Brett Lee mentioned.

Brett Lee
Brett Lee (Image Credit: Twitter)

Brett Lee Reckons Suryakumar Yadav To Be The Next Big Thing For India

Brett Lee mentioned that Suryakumar Yadav will be a big game player for India in the coming year and felt India is too strong to not make it to the finals of the T20 Worldcup this time.

“You talk about highs, Suryakumar Yadav, he’s just the next best thing for India. India would definitely be one of the top picks and could definitely win this thing,” Lee added.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

KL Rahul bagged the orange cap in IPL 2020, while Virat Kohli won the player of the tournament in the 2014 and 2016 T20 Worldcup.

Also Read – KL Rahul Likely To Leave Punjab Kings Ahead Of IPL 2022 – Reports