Mumbai Indians, IPL 2021, RR
Mumbai Indians (Image Credit: Twitter)

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma said it will be really hard for him to not have the same squad from next year onwards.

IPL 2022 will see most of the players go under the auctions table as BCCI has planned a mega auction where each team will be able to retain a maximum of three players.

Mumbai Indians are one of the few teams who have not made many changes in their squad since last four-five years and that’s the main reason why they are the most successful IPL side.

Mumbai Indians, MI
Mumbai Indians (Image Credit: Twitter)

Will Mumbai Indians  manage to hold their core players?

Mumbai Indians have found and groomed many raw talents in IPL which has not only helped them win the league but also benefitted the Indian team.

Players like Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, Hardik Pandya and Krunal Pandya have made gained enough confidence from their IPL stint with MI.

Hopefully we can get the same core group of players: Rohit Sharma

Rohit, who has led MI to five IPL titles, said that he was hopeful to bring the same core group of players.

The Mumbai Indians skipper also applauded the talent scouts at the franchise for the incredible work they have been doing for over the years.

“We won’t have the same squad, unless some miracle happens. It will be hard not have all of them as part of the same group next year. But, hopefully we can get the same core group of players and create a magical couple of years,” Rohit said in a video shared by the Instagram handle of the Mumbai Indians on Monday.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo: IPL)

“The credit has to go to the scouts. Who just go day in and day out and watch all the domestic games. And give us feedback as to what individuals are doing,” he added. 

Mumbai Indians could not make it to the IPL 2021 playoffs and finished on fifth place because of the inferior net run rate to Kolkata Knight Riders.

Chennai Super King were crowned the champions after they defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in final by 27 runs.

Also Read: IPL 2021: 14 Matches Won’t Take Away The Glory Mumbai Indians Achieved Over The Last 2-3 Seasons – Rohit Sharma