Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma
Suryakumar Yadav and Rohit Sharma (BCCI)

Indian players Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, and Jasprit Bumrah have been flown out to UAE from Manchester after returning negative results in their Covid-19 tests. The trio was brought in on a separate charter flight by their franchise, Mumbai Indians (MI).

As foretold by the BCCI, they will undergo a 6-day mandatory quarantine period now that they’ve landed in Abu Dhabi. Their squad is already settled and preparing for the upcoming second leg of the IPL 2021 season.

IPL 2021: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah Test Negative For Covid-19, Flown Out To UAE By Charter Flight From Manchester
Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav. (Credits: Twitter)

Mumbai Indians flew in three of its Indian contingent members, captain Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Suryakumar Yadav, to Abu Dhabi on a private charter flight. The trio, along with their families, arrived today morning and will undergo 6 days hard quarantine, starting today as per the IPL’s guidelines.

All members had returned negative RT PCR results before departure. A new RT PCR test was undertaken upon arrival at Abu Dhabi, which are negative as well,” the official statement from Mumbai Indians read.

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah (Image Credits: Twitter)

Following the cancellation of the 5th Test in Manchester between England and India, the IPL franchises decided to arrange charter flights for their players. Indian skipper Virat Kohli and pace bowler Mohammed Siraj will arrive in Dubai on Sunday morning, as per the team source.

Yes, we have arranged a charter flight for Virat and Siraj, both of them will be flying out at 11:30 PM UK time on Saturday and they will reach Dubai early Sunday morning. The safe transit of players is the utmost priority of RCB. They will undergo 6-day quarantine before joining the team bubble,” an RCB source was quoted as saying to ANI.

Virat Kohli, Mohammed Siraj
Mohammed Siraj with Ab de Villiers, Virat Kohli. (Photo: BCCI)

The 14th season of the biggest franchise cricket league around the world will commence on September 19. MI takes on Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the first match of the second leg.

Mumbai Indians Squad for IPL 2021

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan (wk), Arjun Tendulkar, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Krunal Pandya, Trent Boult, Marco Jansen, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Adam Milne, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Yudhvir Singh, Piyush Chawla, James Neesham, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Anmolpreet Singh, Mohsin Khan.

Also Read – India vs England 2021: Manchester Test Cancelled Because Players Were Petrified Of Catching Covid And Missing The IPL – Michael Vaughan