MS Dhoni, IPL T20, CSK, Chennai Super Kings
MS Dhoni. (Photo: IPL)

Last Update on: October 17th, 2021 at 06:59 pm

Former Indian pace bowler Rudra Pratap Singh made MS Dhoni the captain of his playing XI of IPL 2021.

CSK defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in IPL 2021 final to bag their fourth title, making them the second most successful side in the tournament after rivals Mumbai Indians, who have won the trophy five times.

IPL 2021, Final: List Of All Prize Winners
IPL 2021 Winners, Chennai Super Kings. (Photo: Twitter)

CSK’s output in 2021 was a testimony of the resilience they showed after enduring a dismal season in IPL 2020, where for the first time in the history of the tournament, they failed to qualify for the playoffs or knockout stages.

RP Singh named his own playing XI on his official Twitter handle based on the individual performance of IPL 2021, and CSK skipper was made the captain of that team.

RP Singh
RP Singh. Image-Twitter

Ruturaj Gaikwad and KL Rahul named openers in RP Singh’s Playing XI of IPL 2021

With 626 runs from 13 innings, KL Rahul was leading as the highest run-scorer of the tournament until the final day when CSK’s young and gritty opener Ruturaj Gaikwad surpassed his tally to claim the orange cap.

RP Singh named Rahul and Gaikwad as the openers of his team, with RCB skipper Virat Kohli batting at No.3.

Kohli’s teammate Glenn Maxwell, who made the team’s middle-order look strong, scoring 513 runs from 14 innings at the strike rate of 144.10, bats at No.4

Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant comes in at 5, followed by Dhoni with Ravindra Jadeja at No.7 to provide the finishing touches.

Harshal Patel and Jasprit Bumrah were included as pace bowlers by RP Singh

RP Singh named Varun Chakravarthy, who picked 18 wickets from 17 matches, as the third spinner along with Jadeja and Maxwell.

IPL 2021’s leading wicket-taker, Harshal Patel (32), is one of the three pace bowlers drafted in RP Singh’s playing XI, with Jasprit Bumrah and Shardul Thakur the other two.

Despite Mumbai Indians couldn’t make it to the playoffs, Jasprit Bumrah bagged 21 wickets, the third-highest behind Avesh Khan (24) and Harshal Patel.

RP Singh’s IPL 2021 playing XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (C), Ravindra Jadeja, Varun Chakravarthy, Shardul Thakur, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah.

Also Read: Shaun Pollock Names Three Players CSK Should Retain Ahead Of IPL 2022 Mega Auction