Shubman Gill GT
Photo Credit: (IPL)

Gujarat Titans (GT) batter Shubman Gill continued his purple patch in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 as he played another decent knock in the ongoing final against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the Narendra Modi International Stadium.

Shubman Gill yet again oozed his class and played some blistering strokes and yet again gave his team a great start in an all-important clash. The batter looked all set for another big knock as he looked in great touch but unfortunately was stumped out.

IPL I2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Shubman Gill smashed 39 runs in 25 balls with the help of 7 fours. He batted with a strike rate of 195 and also stitched 67 runs opening partnership with Wriddhiman Saha (54).

Also Read: CSK vs GT: Watch – MS Dhoni’s Lightning-fast Stumping Sends In-form Shubman Gill Packing For 39 In IPL 2023 Final

With his knock, it’s fair to say that he has bagged an orange cap. His innings provided GT with great momentum as they are looking set for a great finish.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team| Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) 

Read More  NZ vs AUS Scorecard, 3rd T20I Highlights 2024: Matthew Short guides Australia to a 27-run victory; Australia completes the wehitewash

Also Read: CSK vs GT: WATCH – Deepak Chahar’s Dropped Catches Turn Expensive As Shubman Gill And Wriddhiman Saha Put Up Record Powerplay Stand

CSK vs GT: Shubman Gill Breaks Ample of Records in the IPL

After his 39-run knock, Gill broke a great number of records. He clearly lived up to the title of Prince of Indian Cricket as he came close to Virat Kohli in almost every record and even broke one of his records. Here are some of the records broken by Gill.

Most runs in an IPL season:

973 – Virat Kohli (RCB, 2016)
890 – Shubman Gill (GT, 2023)
863 – Jos Buttler (RR, 2022)
848 – David Warner (SRH, 2016)
735 – Kane Williamson (SRH, 2018)

In terms of most runs in a season, Gill now holds the record of scoring the second most runs in the season. He ended the season with 890 runs to his name and only has Virat Kohli ahead of him.

Also Read: CSK vs GT: “The Target Is Never Scoring 600 Or 800 Runs”- Shubman Gill

Highest boundary count in an IPL season:

128 – Jos Buttler (RR, 2022)
122 – Virat Kohli (RCB, 2016)
119 – David Warner (SRH, 2016)
118 – Shubman Gill (GT, 2023)

Read More  Watch: Yashasvi Jaiswal stunned after getting castled by Shoaib Bashir in Ranchi Test

Gill also entered the list of highest boundary counts in an IPL season. He hit 118 boundaries this season, joining the likes of David Warner, Virat Kohli, and Jos Buttler.

Youngest Orange cap winner in the IPL:

Shubman Gill (GT) – 23y & 263d (2023) – 890*
Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK) – 24y & 258d (2021) – 635
Shaun Marsh (KXIP) – 24y & 328d

Gill also broke the record of the youngest orange cap winner in the IPL. He surpassed Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shaun Marsh to achieve the feat.

Most runs against spin in an IPL season:

Shubman Gill – 378 (2023).
Virat Kohli – 364 (2016).
David Warner – 344 (2019).
David Warner – 332 (2017).
David Warner – 318 (2016).

Gill with his staggering season in IPL 2023 also etched his name in the record books for most runs against spin in an IPL season. He scored 378 runs against slow bowlers this season.

Most runs at a single venue in an IPL season

597 – Virat Kohli (Bengaluru, RCB, 2016)
572 – Shubman Gill (Ahmedabad, GT, 2023)
532 – Chris Gayle (Bengaluru, RCB, 2013)
433 – David Warner (Hyderabad, SRH, 2019)

Gill also joined the likes of Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, and David Warner for most runs at a single venue in an IPL. He scored 572 runs at Narendra Modi International Stadium in Ahmedabad this season.

Read More  Dinesh Karthik rants out at R Ashwin, labels England spinners better than him

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Ankitjit is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since April 2023 and he has written more than 1900 articles for the website.