Watch: Wicket off a no-ball! Reece Topley takes stunner but leaves Virat Kohli dejected as Yash Dayal oversteps

Updated - 15 Apr 2024, 09:36 PM

Reece Topley
Reece Topley, Yash Dayal, RCB [PC:]

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) endured a nightmare with the ball on Monday (April 15) as Sunrisers Hyderabad batters took their bowlers to the cleaners at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The match began on a good note for the home side as its captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and opted to field first. However, their bowlers failed to capitalize with the new ball as Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma gave SRH a flying start.

The duo added 108 runs in just 49 balls for the first wicket before Sharma was dismissed for 34 by Reece Topley. Head, on the other hand, completed his fifty off just 20 balls and went on to score his maiden IPL ton. He reached the landmark in just 39 balls and was eventually dismissed for 102 runs. Head's blistering knock was studded with nine fours and eight sixes.

Head's departure did not bring any respite for the RCB bowlers as Heinrich Klaasen also scored a whirlwind fifty. The South African smashed 67 runs off just 31 balls with the help of two fours and seven sixes. 

Yash Dayal takes wicket on no-ball:

The way things unfolded, it became very clear that it was not RCB's day and it became further clear when Yash Dayal took a wicket on no-ball. On the second ball of the 18th over, Yash Dayal's full toss outside the off stump was hit towards the short third man by Aiden Markram before Reece Topley took a fine-diving catch.

And as the RCB players were celebrating the much-needed breakthrough, they heard the dreaded siren sound for a no-ball. Yash Dayal had overstepped and as a result, Markram got a big reprieve. The South African batsman made the most of the chance. He was batting on 18 off 9 balls at that time and went on to score an unbeaten 32.

Watch the incident as Yash Dayal takes the wicket on a no-ball:


Talking about the game, SRH went on to break their own record of the highest score in IPL by posting a daunting total of 287 for 3 in the allotted 20 overs. Earlier this season, they had scored 277 against Mumbai Indians. 


Yash Dayal Reece Topley Aiden Markram IPL IPL 2024 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)