IND vs NZ: India Defeats New Zealand In A Historic T20I Series Victory

Published - 02 Feb 2023, 11:12 AM

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team (PC-BCCI)

In the third T20I of the series, the Indian cricket side totally outperformed New Zealand, scoring a 168-run victory to end the series 2-1.

The Hardik Pandya-led group likewise became the first side in the history of the game to earn 50 T20I series wins at home with what was the second-biggest victory for a team in T20Is (for Test-playing nations) and the most against a Test playing nation. With the 2-1 victory, India’s cricket team reached a milestone of 50 home T20I series victories.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

India vs New Zealand

Shubman Gill Guides India To Huge Total

At Ahmedabad’s largest cricket stadium, India decided to bat first, and Shubhman Gill guided the side to 234-4, scoring his first T20 century for India. Indian bowlers defeated the New Zealanders for a pitiful 66 in 12.1 overs to win the series 2-1. In three one-day games, the hosts completely destroyed the New Zealanders.

The enormous win was the greatest one for India in T20 international matches as well as the largest margin of runs in a match between two Test-playing nations.

Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill. (Photo: Twitter)

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

At the 132,000-seater Narendra Modi Stadium, Gill put up 103 runs for the fourth wicket with captain Hardik Pandya, who scored 30 before taking four wickets with his fast bowling.

Arshdeep Singh Derails New Zealand’s Chase

The massive chase by New Zealand got off to a terrible start when Arshdeep Singh struck twice in the second over of the innings, causing them to lose their top four for just seven runs in three overs.

In response to expedite bowling from Pandya, Suryakumar made two outstanding catches at first slip to dismiss Glenn Phillips for two and Finn Allen for three.

Arshdeep Singh and Suryakumar Yadav
Arshdeep Singh and Suryakumar Yadav (PC-BCCI)

Umran Malik, a lightning-quick bowler, dismissed Bracewell before Daryl Mitchell, who scored 35 runs, and captain Mitchell Santner tried to make a stand. Each of Shivam Mavi, Umran, and Arshdeep claimed two wickets.

Also Read: Watch: Hanuma Vihari, Despite Having A Damaged Wrist, Bats Left-handed And Holds Off Madhya Pradesh Bowlers

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah



Hardik Pandya IND vs NZ 2023 India National Cricket Team India vs New Zealand 2023 Shubman Gill Umran Malik