IND vs SL: Bengaluru Test To Be Played With 50 % Crowd Capacity - Reports
IND vs SL: Bengaluru Test To Be Played With 50 % Crowd Capacity - Reports

India and Sri Lanka are currently playing a three-match T20I series with the second of the three games currently underway in Dharmasala. The third and final T20I of the IND vs SL series will also be played at the same venue on Sunday (February 27). The hosts are currently leading the series 1-0 having won the first game on Friday.

The two-match Test series starts with the first Test in Mohali (March 4-8). The Mohali Test will mark Virat Kohli’s 100th Test match of his career. The second Test in Bengaluru is a day-night Test between March 12-16.

IND vs SL Test Match In Bengaluru To Be A Pink-Ball Test

Chinnasawamy stadium, Bengaluru
Photo Credit: (IPL)

Meanwhile, as per reports in ESPN Cricinfo, a Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) official has confirmed that the second Test will have a crowd capacity of 50 percent. Cricinfo further reports that the selling of tickets for the second Test has already begun.

IND vs SL: Bengaluru Test To Be Played With 50 % Crowd Capacity - Reports

Both the BCCI and the Sri Lanka Cricket Board have announced the respective Test squads for the two-match series. The series will be a part of the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23.

India have their veterans in Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha missing from the squad. Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari have been recalled into the Test squad and it is expected that they will bat in the middle-order with Virat Kohli batting at number three.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane. Photo-Getty
Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane. Photo-Getty

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, have recalled their Test regulars. Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the side with Dhananjaya de Silva to be his deputy. Veteran all -rounder Angelo Mathews is part of the squad after sorting out his differences with the board.

India’s Test Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, R Pant, KS Bharat, R Ashwin (subject to fitness), R Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, J Bumrah (vc), Md. Shami, Md. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

Sri Lanka Test Squad

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva (vc), Kusal Mendis (subject to fitness), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lasith Embuldeniya.

Also Read: IND vs SL: Virat Kohli’s 100th Test In Mohali To Be Played Without Spectators In Stands

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.