Twitter Reacts As KL Rahul, Bowlers Help India Clinch Series vs Sri Lanka With A Victory In 2nd ODI At Eden Gardens

Updated - 12 Jan 2023, 10:06 PM

Twitter Reacts As KL Rahul, Bowlers Help India Clinch Series vs Sri Lanka With A Victory In 2nd ODI At Eden Gardens
Twitter Reacts As KL Rahul, Bowlers Help India Clinch Series vs Sri Lanka With A Victory In 2nd ODI At Eden Gardens

The Eden Gardens in Kolkata hosted the second ODI of the three-match series between the Rohit Sharma-led India National Cricket Team and the Dasun Shanaka-led Sri Lanka National Cricket Team on Thursday, January 12.

India National Cricket Team beat Sri Lanka National Cricket Team by 4  wickets in the match to seal the series victory. The third and dead rubber ODI will be played at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Sunday, January 15. Since January 2021, India have won 9 of the 11 ODIs played at home. Also, since the start of 2010, India have played 25 bilateral ODI series at home and of those, they have lost only three.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka Tour Of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia Tour Of India 2023 

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first in the match and both teams made injury-related changes to the playing XI. Pathum Nissanka and Dilshan Madushanka were out with their respective injuries and the Lankan Team handed the debut cap to Nuwanidu Fernando and included Lahiru Kumara in the team.

Also, the Indian leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was ruled out of the match as he hadn’t recovered sufficiently from a sore right shoulder and was replaced by left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav in the playing XI.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Nuwanidu Fernando
Image Source – Twitter

Avishka Fernando opened the innings with debutant Nuwanidu Fernando in the absence of Pathum Nissanka. The Lankan opening duo managed to add only 29 runs together in 36 balls, before Mohammed Siraj broke the partnership by dismissing Avishka, who smashed some good boundaries, in the 6th over for 20.

After losing a wicket in the powerplay, debutant Nuwanidu and Kusal Mendis provided stability to the Lankan innings and both the batters looked fluent out in the middle. They stitched up a brilliant 73 runs partnership in 66 balls.

Rohit Sharma introduced spin in the 17th over and both the left-arm spinners – Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel – struck in their respective first over as Kusal Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva got dismissed.

The 23-year-old Nuwanidu Fernando looked impressive on his international debut and scored a brilliant 50 runs off 63 balls, with 6 fours. His innings ended in the most unfortunate manner as he got run out.

Kuldeep Yadav
Kuldeep Yadav (Image Credits: Twitter/BCCI)

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals and they slipped from 102/1 to 126/6 in no time. In the end, Dunith Wellalage showed a good fight and he was part of three 25+ runs stand with Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne and Kasun Rajitha respectively.

The Lankans got bundled out for 215 inside 40 overs as Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Siraj bagged three wickets each while Umran Malik bagged two wickets and Axar Patel picked up one wicket.

Chasing the target, India were off to a flying start, but they lost the in-form top three inside the powerplay. Lahiru Kumara cleaned up Shubman Gill for 21 and Virat Kohli for 4 while Chamika Karunaratne dismissed Rohit Sharma for 17. Shreyas Iyer was the fourth to fall as Kasun Rajitha trapped him LBW in the 15th over.

Then, KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya led India to recovery by stitching together 75 runs in 119 balls, before Chamika Karunaratne dismissed the latter for 36 in the 35th over.

In the end, KL Rahul remained unbeaten and scored 64* runs off 103 balls, including 6 fours. He added 28 runs in 22 balls with Kuldeep Yadav to guide India to a victory in the match as well as the series.

KL Rahul (Image Credits: Twitter)

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To India vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI In Kolkata:


Also Read: IND vs SL: Watch: Virat Kohli Goes Dumbstruck On The Field After Kusal Mendis Smashes Umran Malik For A Six In 2nd ODI

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah






Hardik Pandya IND vs SL 2023 India National Cricket Team Kasun Rajitha KL Rahul Kuldeep Yadav Kusal Mendis Lahiru Kumara Mohammed Shami Mohammed Siraj Nuwanidu Fernando Rohit Sharma Shreyas Iyer Shubman Gill Sri Lanka national cricket team Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 Twitter Reactions Umran Malik Virat Kohli Wanindu Hasaranga