Alex Carey
Alex Carey. Image-Mark Brake/Getty Images

Last Update on: December 2nd, 2021 at 10:21 am

South Australian wicketkeeper Alex Carey is set to make his Test debut in the upcoming first Ashes Test against England, at Gabba from December 8.

Cricket Australia announced a modified squad for the first two Tests which sees the inclusion of Alex Carey and Pat Cummins as the new captain and Steve Smith as the vice-captain following former skipper and wicketkeeper Tim Paine’s resignation as Test captain and subsequent decision to take an indefinite break from the game.

Alex Carey, who has already represented Australia in 45 ODIs and 38 T20Is, is set to become the 461st cricketer to represent Australia in the men’s Test Team. The left-hander scored a century in the Marsh Cup before heading to Brisbane.

Alex Carey
Alex Carey. Image-Getty

“Alex has been a regular member of the national side in white ball cricket, particularly in the one-day game,” National selector George Bailey said in a statement on Thursday.

“He is an excellent cricketer and a fine individual who will bring many great strengths into the team. He will be a very deserved holder of baggy green cap number 461.”

Focus is on playing my part in helping Australia secure the Ashes: Alex Carey

Alex Carey has been preferred ahead of Western Australia’s Josh Inglis, who slammed three Marsh Sheffield Shield centuries last season. But the selectors went with the experienced man. Inglis will return to Queensland to feature in next week’s Australia A match against England Lions.

“I am incredibly humbled by this opportunity. It’s an exciting build-up for what is a huge series ahead,” Alex Carey said.

“My focus is on preparing and playing my part in helping Australia secure the Ashes.”

Pat Cummins, Steve Smith
Pat Cummins, Steve Smith. (Photo: ICC)

Australia squad for first two Tests: Pat Cummins (c), Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Also Read: Virat Kohli’s Fate As ODI Captain To Be Decided In Next Few Days Before Naming Squad For South Africa Tour – Reports