Anrich Nortje
Anrich Nortje. Image-Twitter

Awards galore for fast bowler Anrich Nortje at Cricket South Africa‘s (CSA) annual awards ceremony, which was held virtually on Monday. The 27-year-old speedster bagged as many as four awards on the night.

Nortje became the 12th player to win the “Men’s Cricketer of the Year” Awards, just the year after he received the “International Newcomer of the Year”. He was also named the Test cricketer of the year, South Africa fans’ player of the year, and South Africa men’s players’ player of the year, in which he shared a tied vote with Aiden Markram.
Anrich Nortje
Anrich Nortje. Image-Getty
Nortje made his international debut in all three formats in 2019, and has only climbed the ladder of success since – he was also phenomenal in the 2020 IPL for the Delhi Capitals. In his 10-Test career, Nortje has bagged 39 wickets, and 21 scalps from 9 ODIs, and has become a potent weapon for the Proteas.

Shabnim Ismail named South Africa’s women’s cricketer of the year for the second time

Women pacer Shabnim Ismail bagged South Africa’s “Women’s Cricketer of the year” award. She had won the same trophy in 2015 as well, making her the third woman after Marizanne Kapp (2013, 2014) and Dane van Niekerk (2016, 2018, 2019) to win this particular award more than once.

Shabnim Ismail
Shabnim Ismail. Image-Twitter

“Anrich and Shabnim have set the highest standards that we expect from our icon Proteas players. Anrich’s international career to date has been remarkable. In the space of a year he has gone from being named our International Newcomer of the Year to our overall Player of the Year – an incredible achievement.

“The pandemic has restricted him to just 10 Test matches to date in which he has taken 39 wickets, including three five-wicket hauls,” Pholetsi Moseki, CSA Acting Chief Executive, said in a statement.

“Shabnim is the fastest bowler on the women’s international circuit, and she has been the leader of our Momentum Proteas attack for a long time now. She is the only South African to have taken 100 wickets in the T20 International format and she recently passed the significant landmark of 150 wickets in ODI cricket,” he added.
Middle-order batsman Rassie van der Dussen was named men’s ODI player of the year. Chinaman Tabraiz Shamsi, who is currently No.1 on the T20I bowling rankings, claimed the men’s T20I player of the year award. Allrounder George Linde was adjudged the men’s international newcomer of the year.
Allrounder Wian Mulder won “The CSA Delivery of the year” for his ball to dismiss Kusal Mendis in the second Test against Sri Lanka in Johannesburg. Lizelle Lee took the women’s ODI player of the year award.