Asia Cup 2023: Zaka Ashraf Appointed As Chairman Of The PCB Management Committee, Serving A Four-Month Term

Updated - 06 Jul 2023, 01:40 PM

Zaka Ashraf
Zaka Ashraf (Image Credits: Twitter)

Zaka Ashraf has been named as the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) management committee. Zaka Ashraf will serve as PCB management committee chairman for a four-month term. Ashraf’s appointment comes after the resignation of former chairman Najam Sethi.

Zaka Ashraf was expected to be appointed as the PCB chairman, but it was delayed due to legal challenges. The elections were postponed indefinitely after several writ petitions were filed by former management committee members in different high courts across the country.

Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

I Have Officially Joined PCB As Chairman – Zaka Ashraf

Zaka Ashraf took to Twitter to announce his appointment as the chairman of the 10-member management committee.

“I have Officially Joined PCB as Chairman. Alhamdulillah, You will have Positives Changes in the PCB Upcoming Days In Sha Allah,” Ashraf tweeted.

Also read: IND vs WI: “Rinku Singh’s Time Will..”- Ajit Agarkar’s Former Teammate Gives Massive Statement After Rinku Singh Snub From IND vs WI T20 Squad

The Management Committee of the PCB comprises ten members, including Kalim Ullah Khan, Ashafaq Akhtar, Mussadiq Islam, Azmat Parvez, Zaheer Abbas, Khurram Soomro, Khawaja Nadeem, Mustafa Ramday, and Zulfiqar Malik.

IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023

The Ministry for Inter-Provincial Coordination (IPC) has presented a summary to the Prime Minister, who also serves as the PCB’s patron-in-chief. The summary asserts that litigations are affecting the functioning of the board due to the inefficiency of the current election commissioner, Ahmed Shehzad Farooq Rana.

The ministry wrote that “given the litigations, and in the wake of imminent International Cricket events & major decisions at International Council of Cricket, and to ensure seamless and efficient management at the helm of PCB, proposes the constitution of a new Management Committee for a period of four months as a measure to remove the difficulties arising out of the current scenario…

Also read: Travis Head, Sean Williams, And Wanindu Hasaranga Nominated For ICC Men’s Player Of The Month For June

Ministry is of the considered view that Rana may be removed from his position, and Mahmood Iqbal Khakwani, Advocate Supreme Court of Pakistan, may be appointed as new Commissioner of PCB”.

Najam Sethi led the interim management committee of the PCB from December until June 20. The committee was tasked with conducting elections based on the PCB’s 2014 constitution, but they did not fulfill this responsibility before their tenure ended.

Also read: BCB Announces 16-Member Squad For T20I Series Against India; Jahanara Alam And Fargana Hoque Omitted

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Najam Sethi Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Zaka Ashraf