Babar Azam of Pakistan. Photo- Getty
Babar Azam of Pakistan. Photo- Getty

No Indian player was able to feature in the ICC Men’s ODI Team of 2021 just days after the T20I Team of last year was announced.

None of the Indian players managed to make it in ICC’s T20I Playing XI as well and that means Indian players couldn’t make an appearance in either of the white-ball teams.

In a year where the T20 World Cup was staged in the deserted United Arab Emirates and the inaugural World Test Championship final was held in Southampton, the focus on ODI matches by full-time ICC members was very less.

Babar Azam named captain of ICC ODI Team Of 2021

Pakistan’s star batter Babar Azam has been named as the captain of ICC Men’s ODI Team of 2021.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam (Image Credit: Twitter)

Babar just played six ODI matches in 2021, the same number of matches the Indian team played, and accumulated 405 runs at the strike rate of 108 and an average of 67.50 with two hundreds.

The Pakistan captain scored hundreds in tours to South Africa and England, he made 103 in Centurion and a remarkable 158 in Birmingham.

Pakistan batter Fakhar Zaman is also part of the ODI XI as he continued his stellar run in Pakistan’s ODI side in 2021.

Zaman scored 365 runs at an average of 60.83 in six matches with the help of two hundreds. He made 193, almost taking Pakistan home in their chase of 342 in Johannesburg.

Paul Stirling, Simi Singh were included in the ODI Team of 2021

Ireland opener Paul Stirling, who was the highest run-getter in the 50-over format with 705 runs from 14 innings with three centuries, featured with his teammate Simi Singh in ICC’s ODI team of 2021.

Paul Stirling
Paul Stirling [photo: Reuters]
The Indian-born Ireland all-rounder became the first player to score an ODI hundred batting at No.8. Simi Singh remained unbeaten on 100 against South Africa in the third ODI in Dublin.

South Africa opener Janeman Malan, and middle-order batter Rassie van der Dussen featured with Sri Lanka’s duo of Wanindu Hasaranga and Dushmantha Chameera.

With 20 wickets from 13 innings, Chameera ended as the leading wicket-taker of 2021 in the 50-over format. Senior Bangladesh players Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim and pace bowler Mustafizur Rahman were also part of the ODI Team of the year.

ICC ODI Team of 2021: Paul Stirling (Ireland), Janneman Malan (South Africa), Babar Azam (Pakistan) (captain), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan), Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh) (wicket-keeper), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Mustazifur Rahman (Bangladesh), Simi Singh (Ireland) and Dushmantha Chameera (Sri Lanka).

Also Read: No Indian Player Included As ICC Announces Men’s T20I Team Of The Year 2021