Babar Azam Unhappy With Changes Made By Ramiz Raja To Pakistan's Squad For T20 World Cup

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam has reportedly expressed displeasure at the changes made by the to-be chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Ramiz Raja. Babar wanted four players to be part of the squad but Ramiz decided otherwise.

The Asian side recently announced their squad for the upcoming 2021 T20 World Cup. There were quite a few changes in the squad when compared to what the team has been playing with over the past few weeks. A few players who haven’t played T20 in a long time were added much to the unhappiness of Babar Azam.

Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman (Image Credit: Twitter)

The skipper wanted Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Faheem Ashraf, and Usman Qadir in his squad but Ramiz turned it down stating they weren’t good enough to play in the World Cup. Instead, the former player went with Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, Azam Khan, and Sohaib Maqsood. This decision is being frowned upon by many fans and experts.

Even if one of them performs well, Pakistan will win the World Cup. This is the best squad,” said Ramiz to Babar at the National High-Performance Centre in Lahore, according to sources in SAMAA TV.

Asif Ali
Asif Ali last played a T20I on April 23 2021. (Image-Twitter)

Earlier, head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and bowling coach Waqar Younis stepped down from their roles. The former cited fatigue from bio-bubbles as the primary reason while the latter hasn’t spoken yet on his decision.

Sources revealed that Ramiz Raja planned to sack both Misbah and Waqar once he gets elected as the chairman. In order to avoid possible humiliation, the duo announced their resignation as per the sources.

Misbah Ul Haq And Waqar Younis. Photo- Twitter
Misbah Ul Haq And Waqar Younis. Photo- Twitter

As preparation for the ICC event, Pakistan will soon be playing against New Zealand in a 5-match T20I series apart from 3 ODI’s. Abdul Razzaq and Saqlain Mushtaq have been assigned as interim coaches for the Kiwi series.

Babar Azam-led Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Azam Khan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Shahdab Khan, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Afridi.

Traveling reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Usman Qadir, Shahnawaz Dhani

Also Read – Mohammad Amir Decides To Come Out Of International Retirement, States His Availability For Pakistan