Last Update on: May 29th, 2021 at 05:57 pm
Bangladesh captain and opening batsman, Tamim Iqbal has been fined 15 percent of his match fee for showing dissent and using inappropriate language after he was adjudged caught behind by the umpire during the third One-day International against Sri Lanka.
The incident took place during the 10th over of the Bangladesh run-chase. Tamim challenged the on-field call but the replays were inconclusive to overturn the decision.
It appeared that Tamim Iqbal slammed his bat in the ground at the same time when the ball moved past the outside edge.
With no conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field call, Tamim had to walk back to the pavilion, leading to an emotional outburst from the Bangladesh skipper.
Tamim’s outburst meant that the southpaw breached Article 2.3 of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to the ‘use of an audible obscenity during an International Match”, said an ICC press release.
After the match, Tamim Iqbal stood his ground as he said that he felt that the ball had touched his bat.
“It was very disappointing. I was 100 percent sure that I never nicked it,” he said. “It was very unfortunate that when it went to review, it was almost impossible for the [third] umpire to overturn the decision. If the on-field umpire didn’t give that out, it would have been a different thing.” said Tamim Iqbal.
Since this was Tamim’s first offense in a two-year period, he has been handed one demerit point.
As far as the third ODI is concerned, Bangladesh could only manage 189 during their run-chase of 287 thanks to fast bowler Dushmanta Chameera’s five-wicket haul [5/16]. That said, Bangladesh notched up yet another series win on home soil by virtue of winning the first two ODIs.