Quinton De Kock - Melbourne Renegades BBL2023-24
Photo Credit:(Getty Images)

Last Update on: September 3rd, 2023 at 07:40 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock will be playing his first BBL season with Melbourne Renegades who signed him up in the overseas draft. The second edition of the overseas draft was a tough one as the franchises were tactical in picking and choosing the international players. 

Melbourne Stars signed England batting sensation Harry Brook while Adelaide Strikers managed to retain Rashid Khan. Zak Crawley who was in good form in the Ashes 2023 will be playing for Perth Scorchers. Both the England batters might not play the full season with England traveling to India in February-March 2024. The Renegades also picked up Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman in the second straight season. 

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Rain Threat In Colombo, Tournament To Be Shifted Outside For Super 4 Stage: Reports

Quinton de Kock To Make His BBL Debut

Rashid was initially picked up by Melbourne Stars but Adelaide Strikers used their retention card to retain the spin sensation in their ranks. Strikers also managed to buy The Hundred Player of the tournament Jamie Overton who is expected to be available for the 10 home and away matches. 

Read More  Watch: Mohammad Rizwan Hilariously Celebrates Babar Azam's Dismissal Against New Zealand

The Melbourne Stars after missing out on Rashid Khan decided to invest in Harry Brook. Stars were able to buy back Haris Rauf who had played for them previously while adding Pakistan spinner Usama Mir to their ranks as well. 

Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Sam Billings, and Alex Hales were the other big names who were drafted in by franchises in the draft session. 

Players Chosen By Different Franchises in BBL 2023-24 Draft

Melbourne Stars Harry Brook, Haris Rauf, Usama Mir

Adelaide Strikers Rashid Khan (retained), Jamie Overton, Adam Hose

Hobart Hurricanes Chris Jordan, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson

Melbourne Renegades Quinton de Kock, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Sydney Thunder Alex Hales, Zaman Khan

Sydney Sixers Tom Curran (retained), James Vince, Rehan Ahmed

Brisbane Heat Colin Munro, Sam Billings, Paul Walter

Perth Scorchers Zak Crawley, Laurie Evans

Read More: IND vs PAK: Wasim Jaffer Hits Out At Virat Kohli After India Vs Pakistan Clash, Says ‘The Execution From Him Was Not Good

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.