Brad Hogg
Brad Hogg (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former Aussie cricketer Brad Hogg picked his playing XI of Australia for the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 after the team announced their squad for the tournament. Brad Hogg picked Josh Inglis as wicketkeeper instead of Matthew Wade in the playing XI citing that the former would be a better batsman against spin.

Australia on Thursday (August 20) announced their squad for the forthcoming ICC T20I World Cup 2021, scheduled to be played in October-November this year. Australia’s squad for the tournament consists of 15 players, who will be led by Aaron Finch. Here’s the Australia squad for the ICC tournament.

Aaron Finch (C), Pat Cummins (VC), Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, and Adam Zampa. 

Brad Hogg

Brad Hogg (Image Credit: Twitter)

Brad Hogg Picks Australia’s Playing XI For ICC T20 World Cup 2021

In his playing XI which he revealed in a YouTube video, Brad Hogg kept Aaron Finch and David Warner at the opening slot. However, he replaced Australia’s regular wicket-keeper Matthew Wade with Josh Inglis at the no.6 batting spot.

“Inglis at six because he is a better player of spin than Matthew Wade, but it’s yet to be seen on subcontinent conditions,” said Brag Hogg.

Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood
Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood. Image Credits: Twitter

For bowlers, the former Australian spinner picked Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood as the pacers. For the spin option, he went ahead with Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa.

“The bowling department is their strength. Agar, Cummins, Starc, Hazlewood and Zampa. Wicket taking opportunities as well being able to dry up the opposition. They will be able to take on any attacking team that presents themselves to this Australian line-up.

“They’ve got good backup strength. Richardson with fast bowling, Swepson with the spin, Wade keeping and batsman versatility, as well as Stoinis with his all-round ability. Australia have a chance of getting into the grand final,” Brad Hogg explained.

Australia National Cricket Team
Australia National Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Here’s Brad Hogg’s Australia XI For T20 World Cup 2021

Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis (wk), Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Aakash Chopra Feels Australia Stuck In The Pool Of Death; Calls Them A Fantastic Team Only On Paper

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will begin on October 17, 2021, in UAE and Oman with the qualifiers round. India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are part of group 2 in the super 12 round, while Australia, West Indies, England, and South Africa are part of group 1.

Australia Team
Australia Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Both the groups will be joined by two teams each after the group stage. Australia will kickstart their ICC T20 World Cup 2021 stint with a game against South Africa on October 23. The final of the tournament will be played on November 14, 2021.