CSK To Honour And Celebrate Yesteryear Tamil Nadu Cricketers
(Credits: Twitter)

Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will honour and celebrate Tamil Nadu’s former cricketers at a special function in Chennai on Tuesday. Tamil Nadu has seen some of the greatest cricketers in the last 85 years and have contributed massively to Indian cricket. As a result, CSK has chosen five amongst them to honour.

By recognizing them and their enormous contributions, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) has decided to remit INR 5 lakhs to cricketers, groundstaff, match officials and others who helped build the sport. Additionally, Chennai Super Kings, whose base is Chennai in Tamil Nadu, has decided to contribute a massive amount as well.

Chennai Super Kings, CSK
Chennai Super Kings players (Image Credit: Twitter)

Some of the veteran cricketers will receive INR 7 lakh from the three-time IPL champions. The franchise has encouraged their huge fan base of 27 million fans to celebrate the achievement to show their respect to the veterans. The men in yellow are currently preparing for the second leg of the IPL 2021 in the UAE.

The beneficiaries of the CSK’s honour include:

Shri K R Rajagopal – A superlative batsman and wicketkeeper who played for Tamil Nadu. He was unfortunate to miss out on the 1967 Indian team tour to Australia by a whisker despite his prolific scores in that year’s Domestic tournaments. KR Rajagopal amassed 800 runs that year.

Shri Najam Hussain – A great all-rounder who played for Mysore, Madras and Jolly Rovers in the 1960s & scored a century for Mysore against Hyderabad in a historic match that created a world record for the first time in 80 years of cricket. All the 20 wickets claimed by Mysore were dismissals recorded as ‘Caught’.

Shri S V S Mani – Shri SVS Mani featured for Tamil Nadu and South Zone along with the likes of VV Kumar, S Venkataraghavan, AG Milkha Singh, Jaisimha, Prasanna and AG Kripal Singh. However, he could get only as far as reaching the Test Reserve of the Indian team.

Shri R Prabhakar – Shri R Prabhakar, a Tamil Nadu Ranji player was an expert medium-pace bowler, using the cutters to good effect and was a useful lower-order batter. His breezy 160+ knock in 30 overs in the Hindu Trophy included 16 sixes and fourteen fours remains one of the most memorable ones.

Shri. K. Parthasarathy – Shri K. Parthasarthy retired after serving as a curator at the Chepauk Stadium from 1973 till 2013. He has curated the pitches for games in all formats including 3 World Cup matches, 4 Women’s World Cup matches, India ‘A’ series fixtures and was also associated with the tied Test in 1986.

Also Read: CSK Skipper MS Dhoni Lands In Chennai Ahead Of IPL 2021