ENG vs PAK: Watch - 'Furious' Babar Azam brutally scolds Iftikhar Ahmed as video goes viral

Published - 24 May 2024, 11:13 PM | Updated - 24 May 2024, 11:14 PM

Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed
Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed [PC: X]

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam has been facing the heat from the fans for an animated chat with his teammate Iftikhar Ahmed. 

The video is doing the rounds on social media in which Babar Azam could be seen frustrated at something. He said something to Iftikhar before the latter walked up to the Pakistan captain and tried to pacify him. Iftikhar seemingly tried to explain something but it did not make much of a difference.

Babar Azam looked frustrated even after Iftikhar's explanation and continued telling him something before both the teammates walked away. The incident seemingly took place before the first T20I between England and Pakistan on Wednesday (May 22). The match was eventually washed out without a ball being bowled.

Watch the incident between Babar Azam and Iftikhar Ahmed:

The second game of the four-match series between Pakistan and England is scheduled to take place on Saturday (May 25). The series will end on May 30 before both the teams fly out of England to participate in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in the USA and the Caribbeans.

Babar Azam will lead Pakistan in the marquee event while Iftikhar Ahmed has also been named in the squad announced on Friday (May 24). The team includes five players who will be playing in the T20 World Cup for the first time while the likes of Imad Wasim and Mohammad Amir have been included as well. Both Imad and Amir recently came out of retirement to make themselves available for selection.

Pakistan are one of the favourites to win the upcoming T20 World Cup and they will be desperate to go all the way. The Men in Green have not won the title since 2009. In the last edition of the World Cup, they made it to the final before losing against England.

Pakistan squad:

Babar Azam (C), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan (wk), Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Abbas Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Abrar Ahmed