England Players' Availability For The IPL 2021 Confirmed By The BCCI
Jos Buttler, Eoin Morgan. Image-Twitter

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has revealed that the England players will be available for the IPL 2021 that is to be held in the UAE. The decision comes on the back of the fact that England’s tour of Bangladesh was postponed indefinitely.

Originally, England’s tour was supposed to be held in October. However, due to reasons unknown, the limited-overs series has been pushed ahead. As a result, their schedule freed up which allowed them to be slotted into the IPL franchises. While speaking to ANI, an anonymous source stated that the BCCI Secretary Jay Shah’s good relations with foreign boards helped their cause.

England Jos Buttler, Rajasthan Royals

“The English players will be available for the resumption of the IPL in the UAE. The BCCI has the green signal. This shows the brilliant working relationship that the secretary has with not just the ECB, but also the BCB,” the source was quoted as saying.

The second phase of the IPL 2021 will resume in the UAE. Since the venue for the same will also serve as hosts to the 2021 T20 World Cup, the players could do with some additional practice. It also helps the IPL franchises to boost their squad. In the end, it’s a win-win situation for everyone involved.

IPL 2021 will start on September 19 and end on October 15

IPL 2021 BCCI England

BCCI had earlier released the schedule for the second leg of the IPL 2021. It restarts on September 19 with the first match being played by the two most successful teams in the league, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. The franchise based out of Chennai has already stated that its players will start their preparation next week after receiving permission from BCCI.

The league will be finished in a duration of 27 days, with as many as 31 games being played. Similar to the 2020 IPL, there will be three venues for the event. Abu Dhabi (8), Dubai (13), and Sharjah (10) will host all of the matches. The final will be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.