Inzamam-ul-Haq. Credits - Getty Images

Last Update on: January 2nd, 2021 at 06:53 pm

Prev1 of 5

Five Successful Captains Who Could Not Win An ICC Trophy. Cricket is a sport where captains behold great importance. A captain can play a very influential role in deciding the fortunes of a team. The responsibility includes on and off-field duties while dealing with the players. A captain is supposed to inspire his teammates by leading from the front and ensure the team is making constant progress. 

Ultimately, however, most captains are judged by the results the team produces under their tenure. Especially the marquee tournaments such as the ODI and T20I World Cups. The game’s history has had many brilliant captains who led their team successfully in bilateral cricket. But couldn’t fulfil their dream of lifting the trophy at an ICC event. 

Five Successful Captains Who Could Not Win An ICC Trophy:

5. Mahela Jayawardene

Mahela Jayawardene. Credit: Google

Fans rate Jayawardene among the finest batsmen to have played for Sri Lanka. The classy right-hand batsman featured in 149 Tests, 448 ODIs and 55 T20Is. In his illustrious career, Jayawardene scored over 30,000 international runs. 

As captain, Jayawardene led Sri Lanka in 38 Tests and 126 ODIs and 19 T20Is. The Island nation won 18 Tests, 68 ODIs and 12 T20Is when he was at the helm. A pretty good record. However, the Lankans could never win a major title under Jayawardena’s otherwise successful tenure. 

Prev1 of 5