Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur
Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur. (Photo: Twitter)

Last Update on: June 26th, 2022 at 11:44 am

India women’s team white-ball skipper Harmanpreet Kaur surpassed her predecessor Mithali Raj to become India’s leading run-scorer in T20 Internationals on Saturday (June 25).

Harmanpreet attained the landmark during the second T20I match between Sri Lanka and India at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.

Happy to win the game and the series: Harmanpreet Kaur

The Indian skipper remained undefeated on 31 off 32 balls as India chased the modest 126 in the second innings to clinch the T20I series 2-0 with one more match left.

“Happy to win the game and the series. It was not an easy track to bat on. The way we managed was good. We batted according to the plan. It is important to stay calm and read the situation better. I am happy we were able to execute our plans,” Harmanpreet said in the post-match presentation.

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur. Image: BCCI Women/Twitter

Harmanpreet Kaur leapfrog Mithali Raj as India’s leading run-getter in T20Is

Harmanpreet has now amassed 2372 runs in 123 T20I matches and went past Raj’s tally of 2364 runs in 89 T20Is. Former New Zealand captain Suzie Bates leads the charts with 3380 runs in 126 games in the shortest format followed by West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor (3121 runs in 111 T20Is).

Coming back to the second T20I, Indian opener Smriti Mandhana top-scored for the visitors, 39 in 34 balls, with Shafali Verma and Sabbhineni Meghna scoring 17 each.

Harmanpreet hit just a couple of fours during her calm and composed knock as India saw the target with five balls to spare.

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur. Image: BCCI Women

Early in the game, the Indian captain dismissed Sri Lanka opener Vishmi Gunaratne, who scored 45 and stitched an 87-run opening stand with Chamari Athapaththu (43 in 41 balls).

Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma picked 2/34 from her four overs and was supported well by Renuka Singh (1/26), Radha Yadav (1/15) and Pooja Vastrakar (1/18).

Sri Lanka and India will play the third T20I on Monday (June 27) at the same venue in Dambulla. Thereafter, both the teams will play three ODI matches in Pallekele with the first match beginning on July 1.

Also Read: Don’t Think There Is Anyone Who Can Replace Mithali Raj – Harmanpreet Kaur