“He Said That?”- Harmanpreet Kaur’s Shocking Reaction To Nasser Hussain Calling Her Run-out A “Schoolgirl Mistake”

Harmanpreet Kaur
Harmanpreet Kaur (PC-Getty Images)

Sickness, a recent hospital visit, and poor performance during the current ICC Women’s T20 World Cup didn’t matter to captain Harmanpreet Kaur, who showed up like a demon with the goal of eliminating Australia from the competition.

She always manages to put Australia under strain in the ICC knockout rounds, and in the semifinal, she and Jemimah Rodrigues were chasing 173 after both openers were dismissed cheaply. After the pair’s recovery of the Women in Blue’s innings from 28/3, India was leading the chase, and Harmanpreet was leading her team to victory up until that unlucky run out.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Harmanpreet Kaur Reacts To Nasser Husaain’s “Schoolgirl Error” Remark

Harmanpreet Kaur raced for a double as India required 41 runs to win off 33 balls. But while she was finishing the second run, her bat became jammed and Australian wicket-keeper Alyssa Healy had already disturbed the stumps.

Harmanpreet Kaur was irrationally angry at herself. The Indian captain felt unlucky because she thought that if she had stayed to the end, they would have won the game with one over left. However, Nasser Hussain, a former England captain, described the skipper’s mistake as a “schoolgirl error.”

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

At the press conference following the game, Harmanpreet Kaur was naturally questioned about the same and her reaction to his statement. The captain was initially shocked that he truly stated it before reassuring her and giving a fitting reply.

“He [Nasser] said that? (Raises her eyebrows). Post-match? Okay. I don’t know, that’s his way of thinking but sometimes it happens. I have seen many times in cricket when batters are taking a single like that and the bat gets stuck there. Obviously, I will take it as, we were unlucky today.

Some things we still have to improve to go to the finals. Definitely, we didn’t field well, we didn’t bowl well in patches and we didn’t bat well. You have to do well in all the departments, then only you have the chance to go to the finals.

“I think it was unlucky but I don’t think it was a mistake by a school girl. We are mature enough, we are playing international cricket and whatever he said, that’s his way of thinking. I don’t think it was like that,” Harmanpreet Kaur added.

After the ejection, the Ladies in Blue required 40 runs off 32 balls. Richa Ghosh and Deepti Sharma batted quietly for one over before the latter was caught by Darcie Brown, which caused Australia to get alarmed. Despite Deepti and Sneh Rana’s best efforts, the Indian team was only able to reach the final by five runs as the five-time winners breezed to victory.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: ICC Match Referee Give The Pitches In Nagpur And Delhi A “Average” Rating

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts