Ben Stokes, Durham
Ben Stokes for Durham (Image: Durham/ Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2022 on Tuesday, January 24. Players who have excelled with bat or ball or with their all-round abilities have been included in the ICC Men’s Test XI for the calendar year 2022. England captain Ben Stokes has been picked as the captain, while wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is the only Indian player in the XI.

Australia, the No. 1 ranked Test team, dominated in the World Championship 2023 cycle and is in the top spot in the points table. Four of their players are included in this Test XI, including the top-ranked Test batsman Marnus Labuschagne and the top-ranked Test bowler Pat Cummins. Three players are included from England and one each from India, the West Indies, Pakistan, and South Africa.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

ICC Mens Test Team of the Year 2022
ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2022 (Image Credits: ICC)

Australian batter Usman Khawaja has been named the opener alongside West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite. Khawaja finished the year with 1080 runs at an average of 67.50, including four hundreds and five fifties. Brathwaite scored 687 runs in 14 innings last year with an average of 62.45.

Ben Stokes, who replaced Joe Root as England’s men’s Test captain in April 2022, led his team to nine wins in 10 Tests. Stokes and coach Brendon McCullum changed the Test team with an aggressive approach, which is called “BazBall.” His teammates James Anderson and Jonny Bairstow, who contributed to England’s victory last year, have been included in the ICC squad.

Only One Indian Included In ICC’s Test XI

Rishabh Pant (PC-Getty Images)
Rishabh Pant (PC-Getty Images)

Rishabh Pant scored 68 runs in 12 innings with an average of 61.81, including two centuries and four half-centuries. He has been included as a wicket-keeper batsman in the team. Pakistan all-format skipper Babar Azam scored 1184 runs at an average of 69.94, including four centuries and seven fifties. He has also been included in the team along with Proteas pacer Kagiso Rabada, who took 47 wickets from nine matches in 2022 at an average of just 22.25.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year

Usman Khawaja, Kraigg Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Rishabh Pant (wk), Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson