India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team [PC: AFP/Getty]

Last Update on: September 18th, 2023 at 08:48 pm

On Monday, September 18, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India’s ODI squad for the upcoming series against the Australia National Cricket Team.

India recently became Asia Cup champions after humiliating Sri Lanka in the summit clash at the R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. The only thing that went in Sri Lanka’s favour was the toss and after that things went out of their hand.

Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj single-handedly decimated Sri Lanka with his 6-wicket haul and was well-supported by Hardik Pandya (3 wickets) and Jasprit Bumrah (1 wicket) as India bundled out the opposition for 50 in 15.2 overs.

When it came to run-chase, Rohit Sharma allowed Ishan Kishan to join Shubman Gill as opener and together the youngsters hit some good-looking boundaries to take India past the finish line in just 6.1 overs.

With the Asia Cup done and dusted, the India National Cricket Team will take on the Australia National Cricket Team in a three-match ODI series, which will help them prepare for the World Cup at home. All the matches of the series are set to start at 1:30 PM IST.

The ODI series opener will be held on September 22 at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh. The second ODI is set to be hosted by the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on September 24 and the third and final match of the series will be held at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on September 27.

Read More  Muttiah Muralitharan Picks This Team Ahead Of Sri Lanka As His Favourite To Win The World Cup

Meanwhile, the seniors like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been rested for the first two ODIs. Also, Ravichandran Ashwin has returned to the ODI setup.

Squad for the 1st two ODIs: KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Squad for the 3rd & final ODI: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj

Australia To Be Without Travis Head In India ODIs

Australia National Cricket Team have also named their squad for the three-match ODI series against the Men In Blue. They have been handed a major blow ahead of the series as star batter Travis Head has been ruled out due to the fractured hand he suffered in South Africa. Matthew Short has been included in the squad as batting cover.

Read More  PAK vs AUS Hyderabad Weather Report Live Today And Pitch Report- ICC World Cup 2023 Warm Up Match

Also, star players Steve Smith (wrist), Glenn Maxwell (ankle and paternity leave), and Mitchell Starc (groin) have recovered from their respective injuries and have made it to the Pat Cummins-led squad after missing the South Africa series.

Australia have also got some injury concerns in the bowling department, as a result, they have decided that Aaron Hardie will remain with the squad for the India series as cover after initially being left out. Notably, Nathan Ellis suffered an adductor strain and Sean Abbott had split the webbing on his right hand.

Australia Squad For ODIs vs India: Pat Cummins (capt), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matthew Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.