IND vs IRE: "This is a crime" - Kuldeep Yadav's exclusion from India XI for T20 World Cup opener leaves fans shocked

Published - 05 Jun 2024, 08:09 PM | Updated - 05 Jun 2024, 08:10 PM

Kuldeep Yadav
Kuldeep Yadav [PC: X]

Team India are opening their campaign in the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024 by taking on Ireland at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

Captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl first before springing a big surprise. The India captain confirmed that Kuldeep Yadav is not a part of the playing eleven. The left-arm spinner is India's spin spearhead for the tournament but failed to find a spot in the team for the first game. 

Kuldeep Yadav had a fine outing in this year's Indian Premier League as well. In 11 games, he had picked up 16 wickets while maintaining an economy-rate of less than 9. However, India have decided to play the game with their two spin bowling allrounders - Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel.  

"We're going to bowl. Preparations have been alright. Have been managing ourselves in these new conditions. Has been challenging but we are all professionals. We played on a similar pitch and do know what to expect a little bit.

"I know it's going to be slightly different from what we're used to. But that's what the sport is. Not sure about the conditions too much, so thought having a target in front of us would be good. Guys missing out are Kuldeep, Sanju, Jaiswal and one more," said Rohit Sharma at the toss.

It is a surprising decision considering the way the pitch behaved in the last game at the venue. Both Wanindu Hasaranga and Keshav Maharaj had fine outings with the ball during the game between Sri Lanka and South Africa. Both the players finished the game with identical figures of 2 for 22. Unsurprisingly, the decision to leave out Kuldeep Yadav has raised a number of eyebrows.

Here are some of the reactions to India leaving out Kuldeep Yadav:


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling(c), Andrew Balbirnie, Lorcan Tucker(w), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little, Benjamin White


Kuldeep Yadav India National Cricket Team Ireland National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup 2024 ICC T20 World Cup