Last Update on: July 23rd, 2023 at 07:50 pm
Ravindra Jadeja’s dismissal on day 2 of the Trinidad Test created a big controversy. India finished day 1 on 288/4 with Jadeja unbeaten on 36 along with Virat Kohli unbeaten on 87. They added a 106-run stand for the fifth wicket.
The duo resumed on day 2 with Jadeja getting yet another Test fifty and was finally dismissed on 61 by Kemar Roach as he got him knicked off to wicketkeeper Joshua Da Silva.
However, the confusion started after on-field umpire Marais Erasmus did not rule him out. Roach bowling the 104th over bowled a delivery wide outside the off stump and Jadeja knicked off to the keeper. On Erasmus not giving it out the WIndies decided to review the decision.
The DRS came into the picture starting with the spin-vision replay which showed that the ball and bat were close together. TV umpire Michael Gough then asked for Ultra Edge. This is where the real confusion happened.
— Human_Insaan🇮🇳 (@Alishan_53) July 21, 2023
The replay that came up seemed to be from a different shot played by Ravindra Jadeja. The ball in which he was dismissed was wide outside the off stump showing Jadeja playing away from his body. However, the Ultra Edge replay showed that Jadeja’s bat was close to the pad resulting in a clear spike. Furthermore, the shot he was playing in the UltraEdge replay seemed to be a straight-bat shot. While the shot which got him dismissed was an extra-cover drive.
Seeing the replays third umpire Michael Gough was satisfied and asked the on-field umpire Marais Erasmus to reverse the decision and give it out. As a result, Jadeja was dismissed for 61 off 152 balls.
Daren Ganga’s Clarification On Ravindra Jadeja’s Dismissal
Daren Ganga in commentary with Curtly Ambrose and Samuel Badree later clarified that the correct decision was made in the end as the correct visuals of the dismissal were played.
“This is the actual replay and the ball part. There was no contact with bat on pad,” while the replay was shown on the broadcast. “This is the correct UltraEdge. And the right decision was made in the end, that is the most important thing,” said Ganga in his clarification.
“Just to clear that issue up and basically set the record straight, no fault of the umpires or the system, it’s just a glitch that took place,” he further clarified.