Mumbai Indians Women [WPL]
Mumbai Indians Women [PC: BCCI/WPL]

Last Update on: July 14th, 2023 at 01:30 pm

The Champions League T20 tournament was a big hit among cricket fans. After the success of franchise leagues, the tournament was started in 2009, jointly by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Cricket Australia (CA), and Cricket South Africa (CSA).

Cricket teams from Test-playing nations around the world participated in it. The Champions League T20 was held in either India or South Africa. It was conducted from 2009 to 2014 before being stopped. And the tournament could make a return soon although with a slight change.

Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 

According to a report from Sydney Morning Herald, Cricket Australia (CA), the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), and the BCCI are in talks to launch the Champions League T20 tournament but for women’s cricket. The officials are discussing the possibility in the wake of the success of the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) in India.

The first edition of the WPL, seen by many as a game-changer for women’s cricket, took place in India this year. The tournament received good support from the fans and also bagged a bumper broadcast deal through television and digital rights. The WPL sold its rights to Viacom18 for $US116.5 million for a five-year period.

India, Australia, and England discuss Women’s Champions League T20:

The report stated that CA chief executive and chairman, Nick Hockley and Mike Baird, have had meetings with their BCCI and ECB counterparts over the course of the World Test Championship final (WTC) and the Lord’s Ashes Test. Another set of talks took place during the ICC’s annual conference in Durban, South Africa.

IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023 

Teams from the WPL, the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), and the Women’s Hundred are likely to take part in the competition. According to the report, the original plan involves rotating the venues, and the host nation will retain the financial gains from ticket revenue and corporate hospitality.

Women’s cricket has received good support from the boards as well as the fans. Recently, the ICC announced that it will give the same prize money to both men’s and women’s teams at ICC events. It is yet another big indication that the governing body is focused on the betterment of women’s cricket. The report also stated that there are absolutely no plans to bring back the Champions League T20 for men.

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

PrinceContent Editor

Prince Singh is an Author and Editor at Cricketaddictor. Prince has been associated with the organisation for more than 5 years and in this time period, he has written close to 20000 articles for the website.