MS Dhoni - Ravindra Jadeja
Photo Credit: (BCCI/IPL)

MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings finished ninth in IPL 2022 winning just four games and losing as many as 10 games. Mumbai Indians finished last with as many wins and as many losses.

CSK’s poor show in IPL 2022 took everyone by surprise as they won the IPL title in 2021. Dhoni announced ahead of the start of the season that he would hand over the captaincy to Ravindra Jadeja. This was despite the presence of someone like Ambati Rayudu in the side.

Jadeja had a disastrous time as captain winning just two out of 8 games before Dhoni became the captain again. That did not bring about too much luck as CSK managed to get just four wins that season. Many felt that this had caused problems between the two players and there were reports of rift all around.

Also Read:  IPL 2024: “It Was Sudden”- Ambati Rayudu On Sharing IPL 2023 Trophy With MS Dhoni On Stage

However, Ambati Rayudu talking to Behindwoods TV clarified that there was nothing as such between the two cricketers. Here is what he said about Dhoni and Jadeja.

“I don’t think Jaddu was upset with Mahi bhai at all. It was just that he was sad because the team wasn’t doing great. Everyone’s performances that year were not coming up to the mark,” said Rayudu.

Read More  MUL vs LAH Today Match Prediction - Who Will Win Today PSL Match? Match 7, PSL 2024

Also Read: IPL 2024: IPL Brand Value Skyrockets To USD 3 Billion – Reports

It Was Just Gossip In The Media: Ambati Rayudu On Rift Rumours Between MS Dhoni & Ravindra Jadeja

He further said that Jadeja was perhaps feeling the pressure as captain as the players did not perform up to the expectations that season.

“He took a break because he wanted a mental break from what was happening. There was no misunderstanding, it was just gossip in the media,” Rayudu further added.

CSK bounced back in style in IPL 2023 winning the IPL title for the fifth time beating Gujarat Titans in the final. Ambati Rayudu played a timely cameo of 19 off 8 balls with Jadeja hitting the winning runs

The veteran CSK cricketer retired from IPL after IPL 2023. He has won six IPL titles three each with MI and CSK.

Also Read: IPL 2024: LSG Part Ways With Chief Coach Andy Flower

Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.