"Just Renders The Ranji Trophy Useless...What A Shame" - Venkatesh Prasad On Jalaj Saxena's Exclusion From Duleep Trophy 2023

Updated - 20 May 2024, 02:33 PM

Jalaj Saxena
Jalaj Saxena (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former Indian fast bowler Venkatesh Prasad criticized the South Zone’s selection committee for not including Kerala all-rounder Jalaj Saxena in the South Zone squad for the Duleep Trophy 2023. Venkatesh Prasad stated that the performances of the Ranji Trophy players are being overlooked.

Jalaj Saxena finished as the leading wicket-taker in the last edition of the Ranji Trophy in the Elite Round. The off-spin bowling all-rounder picked up 50 wickets at an economy rate of 2.75. He grabbed six five-wicket hauls and two 10-wicket match hauls in the season, with best figures of 11/102.

Also read: Ashes 2023: I Genuinely Believe That England Are Scared To Play BazBall On A Wicket That’s Doing Anything – Callum Ferguson

ICC World Test Championship Final | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

Venkatesh Prasad took to Twitter to express his displeasure with the absence of Jalaj Saxena in the South Zone squad for the Duleep Trophy.

“There are many laughable things happening in Indian cricket. The highest wicket taker in Ranji Trophy not being picked even for the South Zone team is as baffling as it gets. Just renders the Ranji Trophy useless..what a shame,” Venkatesh Prasad tweeted.

ICC World Test Championship Final | WTC Final 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023

Not Blaming Anyone – Jalaj Saxena

Earlier, Jalaj Saxena expressed his surprise at not getting picked in the squad, pointing out that the highest wicket-taker in the Ranji Trophy wasn’t included in the team.

“Highest wicket taker in Ranji trophy in India( Elite Group) didn’t get picked in Duleep trophy. Can you please check whether it has ever happened in the Indian Domestic history? Just wanted to know. Not blaming anyone,” the off-spinner wrote on Twitter.

Also read: Ashes 2023: Watch – “He’s A Lot Older Than That” – Kevin Pietersen Makes Fun Of Nasser Hussain After Day 1 Of Edgbaston Test

South Zone Squad For Duleep Trophy 2023

Hanuma Vihari (c), Mayank Agarwal (vc), KS Bharat (wk), Ricky Bhui (wk), Sai Sudharshan, Washington Sundar, R Samarth, Tilak Varma, Sachin Baby, Sai Kishore, V Kaverappa, Vyshak Vijaykumar, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, KV Sasikanth, Darshan Misal

Also read: BAN vs AFG: Bangladesh Register A Massive Record In Test Cricket After Thrashing Afghanistan

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Duleep Trophy 2023 Jalaj Saxena Venkatesh Prasad Duleep Trophy East Zone South Zone North Zone West Zone North East Zone Central Zone