Keshav Maharaj
Keshav Maharaj PC - Twitter

South African spinner Keshav Maharaj bagged the cricketer of the year award in the men’s category while Ayabonga Khaka won the award in the women’s category in CSA’s 2021-22 awards.

Kagiso Rabada was named the Test Player of the Year while Aiden Markram was announced as the T20 player of the year. In the ODIs, bright prospect and in-form batter, Janneman Malan won the ODI player of the Year award.

I warmly congratulate our winners in all international, domestic, and amateur levels. The players have endured a lot during the past two years as the COVID-19 pandemic challenged the conditions of our game. Our teams’ tenacity is seen in the improvement of our national teams and the opportunities that our pipeline continues to provide nationwide.”

Dean Elgar-Kagiso Rabada
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

A big thank you to our umpires, grounds staff and scorers, who ensured that CSA delivers another fantastic season. Our gratitude goes out to our sponsors and partners who have stood beside us in these challenging economic times. Your support has helped us keep our cricket and pipeline programmes thriving,” said Pholetsi Moseki, CSA Chief Executive Officer.

Marco Jansen was named the International Newcomer of the Year

Marco Jansen, who made his mark against India in the home Test series, bagged the International Newcomer of the Year award. The SA Fans’ Player of the Year award went to the explosive batter, David Miller.

Read More  "What does that signify?" - Aakash Chopra on Yuzvendra Chahal not getting BCCI central contract

We look forward to the upcoming action-packed season as South Africa gets to host the inaugural ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and the ICC Under 19 Women’s T20 World Cup in 2023. We will also be hosting the inaugural star-studded Twenty20 competition, a first on the African continent,” Moseki also added.

Marco Jansen
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

In the women’s category, Lizelle Lee won the T20 Player of the year award, while Laura Wolvaardt bagged the ODI player of the year award.

Left-arm spinner Nonkululeko Mlaba was handed the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award, which celebrates the passion, perseverance, and overwhelming pride of people who have used their talent to change their circumstances.

Also Read – I Didn’t Know About Sachin Tendulkar, Was Lost In My Own World – Shoaib Akhtar